Skip to main content

New champions crowned at NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam in Tokyo Dome


Three championships changed hands at today's NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam in Tokyo Dome event. 

In the show's semi-main event, Taichi and Zack Sabre Jr. defeated Tetsuya Naito and SANADA to capture the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championships in 37:58. This was the longest IWGP Tag title match in Tokyo Dome history, according to Chris Samsa.

This marks the third reign with the IWGP Tag titles for Dangerous Tekkers. Naito and SANADA's run with the belts ended at two weeks with zero successful defenses. 

Earlier in the evening, Robbie Eagles defeated El Desperado to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship for the first time in 19:56. Eagles becomes the first Australian to capture IWGP gold. 

Desperado's first IWGP Jr. title reign came to an end following 147 days and two successful defenses. 

On the Wrestle Grand Slam pre-show, Chase Owens won the provisional KOPW 2021 title in a 22-man New Japan Ranbo that went 35:36. Owens last eliminated former provisional KOPW 2021 Toru Yano by pinfall with a package piledriver to win the title. 

Owens becomes the first person besides Yano to hold the KOPW title since its inception in August 2020. Yano held the KOPW 2020 title the entire time it was active. He won the first KOPW 2021 match at Wrestle Kingdom 15 in January and had held it ever since.