Skip to main content

NJPW announces four matches for Power Struggle


Following King of Pro Wrestling, NJPW has made four matches official for Power Struggle.

Those matches are:

  • IWGP Intercontinental Champion Jay White defending against Hirooki Goto
  • NEVER Openweight Champion KENTA defending against Tomohiro Ishii
  • Tetsuya Naito vs. Taichi
  • Kazuchika Okada & YOSHI-HASHI vs. Kota Ibushi & Hiroshi Tanahashi

NJPW has been building to White vs. Goto since the aftermath of White winning the IWGP Intercontinental title from Naito at Destruction in Kobe last month. At King of Pro Wrestling, Goto, Ishii & YOSHI-HASHI defeated White, KENTA & Yujiro Takahashi.

KENTA won the NEVER Openweight Championship from Ishii at Royal Quest in August.

Naito & Shingo Takagi defeated Taichi & DOUKI by disqualification at King of Pro Wrestling. Taichi laid out Naito after the match, then mocked him for losing the Intercontinental title and having his quest to become a double champion get derailed.

Taichi also defeated Naito in this year's G1 Climax.

Okada & YOSHI-HASHI vs. Ibushi & Tanahashi is part of the build to Okada defending his IWGP Heavyweight Championship against Ibushi at Wrestle Kingdom 14 night one on January 4.

Power Struggle is taking place in Osaka, Japan on Sunday, November 3. The show will also feature the finals of this year's Super Junior Tag League.