Skip to main content

NJPW announces tournament for IWGP Junior Tag Team titles


The IWGP Jr. Tag Team titles have been vacated.

One half of the champions, SHO, appeared at today's press conference and officially vacated the titles, saying that YOH is unlikely to come back before the end of the year due to a knee injury. SHO had said they would be vacating the titles in a post-match interview at Summer Struggle in Jingu.

As a result, a four team round robin tournament will start on September 3. The two teams who score the most points will face off in the finals of the tournament on September 11. 

The following teams will compete:

  • Ryusuke Taguchi & Master Wato
  • Hiromu Takahashi & BUSHI
  • El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Taiji Ishimori & Gedo

SHO and YOH had held the titles for 239 days, defeating El Phantasmo and Taiji Ishimori at Wrestle Kingdom 14 on January 5, their second reign as champions. The duo had successfully defended the title twice before vacating.