Skip to main content

NJPW crowns new Tag Team Champions at New Beginning USA


The Guerillas of Destiny are once again the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team champions.

Tama Tonga pinned David Finlay to reclaim the titles tonight on the last stop of the New Beginning tour in Atlanta. This marks the sixth time the duo have held the titles.

Juice Robinson and David Finlay had won the World Tag League tournament back in December, earning them the right to challenge then champions Guerillas of Destiny at Wrestle Kingdom 14. Finlay and Robinson went on to capture the titles for the first time. They ended up holding the titles for only 28 days.

Here are the full results from the final stop on the New Beginning USA tour:

Yuji Nagata and Satoshi Kojima defeated Alex Coughlin and Ren Narita

- Nagata pinned Coughlin with the backdrop hold.

YOSHI-HASHI defeated Misterioso

- YOSHI-HASHI submitted Misterioso with the butterfly lock.

Toru Yano and Colt Cabana defeated Yujiro Takahashi and Jado

- Yano pinned Jado with a schoolboy.

Chase Owens defeated Rocky Romero

- Owens pinned Romero after the package piledriver.

Hiroshi Tanahashi and the Rock ‘n’ Roll Express deated TJP, Alex Zayne and Clark Connors

- Tanahashi pinned Connors with the high fly flow.

Jeff Cobb defeated Lance Archer

- Cobb defeated Archer following the tour of the islands.

The Guerillas of Destiny defeated Juice Robinson and David Finlay to win the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team titles.

- Tama Tonga pinned Finlay to regain the titles.