Skip to main content

NJPW crowns official KOPW 2021 Champion


Toru Yano defeated Yoshinobu Kanemaru in a Year End Party match at today's NJPW Road to Tokyo Dome show and was crowned the official NJPW King of Pro Wrestling 2021. 

After a year of provisional title matches, the ultimate KOPW match of 2021 took place under rules that required Yano and Kanemaru to drink whiskey during their match at intervals. Yano pinned Kanemaru after hitting a powerbomb, and also after Kanemaru spit whiskey into the eyes of the referee. Fans chose which alcoholic beverage would be served to the wrestlers in polls on NJPW's Twitter accounts.

Yano has now won the KOPW title in both years of its existence. Chase Owens is the only other wrestler to hold the KOPW title at any point, as he defeated Yano for the provisional title at Wrestle Grand Slam in Tokyo Dome in July 2021. Owens dropped the title right back to Yano in September at Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome after zero defenses.