Skip to main content

NJPW crowns winner of G1 Climax 32

The G1 Climax 32 concluded on Thursday.

Kazuchika Okada has won the G1 Climax 32.

He defeated Will Ospreay in the finals of the tournament on Thursday from the Nippon Budokan in Tokyo. It's his fourth time winning the G1 and second in a row. 

Okada's G1 victories have taken place in 2012, 2014, 2021, and now 2022. He sits one behind Masahiro Chono for the all-time record. Chono has won the tournament five times, with his victories coming in 1991, 1992, 1994, 2002, and 2005. Okada's victory also moves him ahead of Hiroshi Tanahashi and Hiroyoshi Tenzan who have each won the tournament on three occasions. 

When results from the World League, IWGP League, and MSG League from 1974 to 1989 are factored in, Antonio Inoki holds the record with 10 tournament victories. 

Okada finished the round-robin portion of the tournament with five wins. His only loss came to JONAH on night 13. He then defeated Tama Tonga in the semifinals before moving on to face Ospreay in the finals. 

The full results from the G1 Climax 32 finals on August 18 are below:

Non-tournament matches:

  • Hirooki Goto, Tomohiro Ishii, Yoh & YOSHI-HASHI defeated Dick Togo, EVIL, Sho, & Yujiro Takahashi
  • JONAH and Bad Dude Tito defeated Tom Lawlor & Royce Isaacs
  • Jeff Cobb, Aaron Henare, & Great-O-Khan defeated Bad Luck Fale, Chase Owens, & Juice Robinson
  • Lance Archer, Taichi, & Zack Sabre Jr. defeated BUSHI, SANADA, & Tetsuya Naito
  • KENTA & El Phantasmo defeated Shingo Takagi & Hiromu Takahashi
  • David Finlay & Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated The Good Brothers (Karl Anderson & Doc Gallows)
  • Tama Tonga & KUSHIDA defeated Jay White & Taiji Ishimori

Tournament finals:

  • Kazuchika Okada defeated Will Ospreay