Skip to main content

NJPW G1 Climax 32 block winners determined, semifinals set

The G1 Climax 32 continued on Tuesday from Nagano.

The G1 Climax 32 group stage has concluded, the block winners have been determined, and the semifinals are set. 

The final night of the round-robin portion of the tournament took place on Tuesday from Nagano. 

Kazuchika Okada clinched the A Block with a win over Lance Archer in the main event. Had Okada lost, a three-way tie atop the group would have seen Archer advance as he would have held wins over both Okada and JONAH. 

Jay White went into Tuesday's show needing only one point to clinch the B Block. Tama Tonga handed him his first loss of the tournament, however. Both Tonga and White finished the tournament with 10 points and Tonga advances on the head-to-head tie-breaker. 

Tetsuya Naito came all the way back to pick up eight points and clinch the C Block. He defeated Zack Sabre Jr. on Tuesday to tie him in the standings and advance on the tie-breaker. 

Will Ospreay needed to win and get some help on Tuesday to advance. He defeated Juice Robinson in the night's first match and then clinched the group after El Phantasmo defeated Shingo Takagi to take him out of the running. 

Okada vs. Tonga, and Ospreay vs. Naito will take place on tomorrow's show. 

Night 18 match results:

  • Will Ospreay defeated Juice Robinson
  • El Phantasmo defeated Shingo Takagi
  • EVIL defeated Hirooki Goto
  • Tetsuya Naito defeated Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Tomohiro Ishii defeated SANADA
  • Tama Tonga defeated Jay White
  • JONAH defeated Bad Luck Fale
  • Kazuchika Okada defeated Lance Archer

Final Standings:

A Block:

  • Kazuchika Okada: 10
  • JONAH: 8
  • Lance Archer: 6
  • Jeff Cobb: 6
  • Tom Lawlor: 6
  • Bad Luck Fale: 4
  • Toru Yano: 2

B Block:

  • Tama Tonga: 10
  • Jay White: 10
  • SANADA: 6
  • Taichi: 4
  • Chase Owens: 4
  • Great-O-Khan: 4
  • Tomohiro Ishii: 4

C Block:

  • Tetsuya Naito: 8
  • Zack Sabre Jr.: 8
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi: 6
  • Hirooki Goto: 6
  • KENTA: 6
  • EVIL: 6
  • Aaron Henare: 2

D Block:

  • Will Ospreay: 8
  • David Finlay: 6
  • Shingo Takagi: 6
  • Yujiro Takahashi: 6
  • El Phantasmo: 6
  • Juice Robinson: 4