Skip to main content

NJPW holding tournament to crown new NEVER Six-Man Tag champs


New NEVER Six-Man Tag Team champions will be crowned next week.

NJPW announced this evening that the championships, which were held by Shingo Takagi, EVIL, and BUSHI, have been vacated. EVIL had previously stated in a backstage interview following Dominion last month that he had no desire to keep the championship.

A tournament will be held next week to determine the next champions. The single elimination eight team tournament will be held on August 6, with the finals taking place on August 9. All events will be held at Korakuen Hall.

The opening round will take place on August 6 and 7 with the following matches:

August 6:

  • Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano, and SHO vs. Yujiro Takahashi, Jado, and Gedo
  • SANADA, Shingo Takagi, and BUSHI vs. Minoru Suzuki, El Desperado, and DOUKI

August 7:

  • Kota Ibushi, Hiroshi Tanahashi, and Master Wato vs. Zack Sabre Jr., Taichi, and Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Tomoaki Honma, Togi Makabe, and Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Tomohiro Ishii, Hirooki Goto, and YOSHI-HASHI

The semifinal matches will take place on August 8, and the finals to crown new champions will be held the following day.