Skip to main content

NJPW introducing New Japan Strong Openweight Championship


A new championship was revealed during tonight’s NJPW Strong.

Tonight’s episode of Strong opened with the unveiling of the New Japan Cup USA trophy that the winner will receive. Kevin Kelly on commentary noted that instead of a future championship match, this year’s tournament winner will actually win a new championship being introduced: the Strong Openweight Championship.

The eight-man tournament begins next week on April 9. The opening matches will have Clark Connors taking on Lio Rush, Brody King facing Chris Dickinson, Ren Narita facing Tom Lawlor, and Hikuleo facing Fred Rosser. The semi finals will take place on April 16, and the finals will take place April 23.

KENTA won last year’s inaugural NJPW Cup USA tournament, defeating David Finlay in the finals to win the trophy and a shot at the IWGP United States title. Earlier this year, he faced Jon Moxley for the IWGP United States title in a losing effort.