Skip to main content

NJPW reveals full lineup for Summer Struggle in Jingu


NJPW has announced the full lineup for Summer Struggle in Jingu on August 29. 

Four matches were officially added to the card today. Taichi and Zack Sabre Jr. are set for their first IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship defense. They will face former champions Hiroshi Tanahashi and Kota Ibushi in a rematch from last month's Dominion event. 

No team has made a successful defense of the IWGP Heavyweight Tag titles this year, as the belts have jumped from David Finlay and Juice Robinson, to Guerillas of Destiny, to Tanahashi and Ibushi to Taichi and Sabre. 

NEVER Openweight champion Shingo Takagi will defend his title in Jingu against Minoru Suzuki. Takagi has made three successful defenses since winning the NEVER title at The New Beginning in Saporro in February. Suzuki has one prior reign with the NEVER title. 

A four-way to decide the provisional King of Pro Wrestling Champion will be held. The winners of four first round matches on August 26 will face of on the 29th in Jingu. 

The first round matches are Kazuchika Okada vs. Yujiro Takahashi, Satoshi Kojima vs. El Desperado, SHO vs. SANADA and Toru Yano vs. BUSHI. A fan vote will be held to determine special stipulations for the first round matches. 

Master Wato vs. Yoshinobu Kanemaru was also made official for Jingu. Wato has been feuding with much of Suzuki-gun since his return from excursion. 

Here is the full card for Summer Struggle in Jingu, which will be held on Saturday, August 29. The show will air live on NJPW World at 4 a.m. Eastern time. 

  • IWGP Heavyweight & IWGP Intercontinental Championship match: EVIL (c) vs. Tetsuya Naito
  • IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship match: Hiromu Takahashi (c) vs. Taiji Ishimori
  • IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship match: Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr. (c) vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi & Kota Ibushi
  • NEVER Openweight Championship match: Shingo Takagi (c) vs. Minoru Suzuki
  • NJPW King of Pro Wrestling Provisional Championship match: Four-way, competitors determined by KOPW tournament matches on August 26
  • Master Wato vs. Yoshinobu Kanemaru