Skip to main content

NJPW reveals participants for World Tag League 2021


NJPW has announced the teams for this year’s World Tag League.

12 teams will compete in a round robin tournament, with the top two teams with the most points meeting in the finals December 15 in Sumo Hall along with the finals of the Best of the Super Juniors tournament. The winners of the World Tag League tournament will meet IWGP Tag Team Champions Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr. at Wrestle Kingdom 16.

Taka Michinoku, who has not been seen in New Japan since the end of the Best of the Super Juniors tournament in 2019, will return as part of this year's World Tag League. He will be teaming with Minoru Suzuki, who will make his return to the company after spending most of the last two months in the United States.

Tetsuya Naito confirmed in a press conference Monday morning that he would be part of the tournament as well, returning from a knee injury that he suffered back in September during his first match in the G1 Climax 31 tournament. He will be teaming with SANADA.

The full list of teams is as follows:

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi & Toru Yano
  • Great Bash Heel (Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma)
  • Tencozy (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima)
  • Yuji Nagata & Tiger Mask
  • Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI
  • Tetsuya Naito & SANADA
  • Dangerous Tekkers (Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr.)
  • Minoru Suzuki & Taka Michinoku
  • Great-O-Khan & Aaron Henare
  • Guerillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa)
  • EVIL & Yujiro Takahashi
  • Bad Luck Fale & Chase Owens

The first World Tag League card will take place on November 14. The show will be headlined by Naito & SANADA taking on Goto & YOSHI-HASHI. Other tournament matches include Tanahashi & Yano vs. EVIL & Yujiro, Henare & Great-O-Khan vs. Fale and Owens, Honma & Makabe vs. Guerrillas of Destiny, Tencozy vs. Nagata & Tiger Mask, and Dangerous Tekkers vs. Suzuki & Michinoku