Skip to main content

NJPW reveals stipulation options for Suzuki vs. Yano KOPW 2022 title match

It will either be a Handcuff Deathmatch or a Dog Cage Match.

NJPW has revealed the stipulation options for Minoru Suzuki and Toru Yano's upcoming KOPW 2022 title match.

Suzuki will put his KOPW 2022 trophy on the line against Yano at NJPW's New Year's Golden Series tour show in Sapporo on Sunday, February 20. Suzuki has proposed a "Handcuff Deathmatch" as the stipulation for the match, while Yano has proposed a "Dog Cage Match."

A fan vote will begin on Twitter tomorrow to determine the stipulation.

With Minoru Suzuki and Toru Yano set to face off for the KOPW 2022 trophy on February 20 in Sapporo, both competitors have now brought their choice of stipulations to be put to a fan vote beginning February 9.

After Yano handcuffed him to the ropes on several occasions in January, the current trophy holder Minoru Suzuki has proposed a Handcuff Deathmatch. In this bout, there will be no disqualifications, and both men will start with handcuffs on their wrists, allowing the possibility for them to be chained to anything- including one another.

In response, as demonstrated by Yano on TAKA Michinoku on Monday in Korakuen, Suzuki’s challenger has proposed a Dog Cage Match. In this bout, the only way to win will be to lock your opponent in the dog cage at ringside.

Which rules will be chosen? Voting begins at noon on February 9 on Twitter!

Suzuki defeated Yano, Chase Owens, and Cima in a four-way match at Wrestle Kingdom 16 night two last month to win the KOPW 2022 trophy. Yano ended 2021 as the official KOPW Champion for that year.

The February 20 New Year's Golden Series show will air live on NJPW World. Here's the full card:

  • IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada defends against Tetsuya Naito
  • NEVER Six-Man Tag Team Champions EVIL, Yujiro Takahashi & SHO defend against Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI & YOH
  • KOPW 2022 Champion Minoru Suzuki defends against Toru Yano
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi, Togi Makabe, Yuji Nagata & Tomoaki Honma vs. SANADA, Shingo Takagi, Hiromu Takahashi & BUSHI
  • Hiroyoshi Tenzan vs. The Great-O-Khan
  • Tomohiro Ishii & Ryohei Oiwa vs. Taichi & DOUKI
  • Robbie Eagles, Tiger Mask & Yuto Nakashima vs. Taiji Ishimori, El Phantasmo & Jado
  • Master Wato, Ryusuke Taguchi & Satoshi Kojima vs. El Desperado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru & TAKA Michinoku