Skip to main content

NJPW Strong announces tournament to crown first Tag Team Champions

The tournament begins at the Ignition taping on June 19.

NJPW Strong is introducing Tag Team Championships. 

The promotion announced on Tuesday night that an eight-team single elimination tournament to crown the first NJPW Strong Openewight Tag Team Champions will begin at the Ignition taping in Los Angeles on Sunday, June 19. 

The tournament will conclude and the first title holders will be crowned the following month at the High Alert taping in North Carolina on Sunday, July 24.

The NJPW Strong Openweight Tag Team titles will be the second Championship to be exclusively defended on Strong. The Strong Openweight Championship was introduced in 2021, with Tom Lawlor becoming the inaugural champ after winning the New Japan Cup USA 2021 on the April 23, 2021 Strong episode. 

Here is the lineup for Ignition:

NJPW Strong Ignition, Sunday, June 19 --

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi & Yuya Uemura vs. Jay White & Hikuleo
  • Negro Casas, Adrian Quest & Lucas Riley vs. Mascara Dorada, Ren Narita & David Finlay
  • JONAH vs. Taylor Rust
  • JR Kratos vs. Jordan Cruz
  • Fred Yehi vs. Bateman
  • Barrett Brown & Misterioso vs. Kevin Knight & The DKC
  • NJPW Strong Openweight Tag Team Championship tournament begins