Skip to main content

Stipulation added to KOPW 2021 match at NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam


A fan vote has decided the stipulation for the KOPW 2021 match on night one of NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome on Saturday, September 4.

Chase Owens will defend the provisional 2021 KOPW title against Toru Yano in a No DQ I Quit match. A poll on NJPW's Twitter account decided the stipulation. 

Yano proposed the ultimate winner, while Owens had proposed a Texas strap match. Yano's choice won by a 75.47 percent to 24.53 percent margin in a poll with 17,598 total votes. 

Owens vs. Yano, Hiroshi Tanahashi defending the IWGP United States Championship against Kota Ibushi, pus Kazuchika Okada vs. Jeff Cobb are now set for night one of Wrestle Grand Slam. 

Here are the announced lineups for both nights: 

NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome night one, Saturday, September 4 --

  • IWGP United States Championship: Hiroshi Tanahashi (c) vs. Kota Ibushi
  • Kazuchika Okada vs. Jeff Cobb
  • Provisional KOPW 2021 No DQ I Quit match: Chase Owens (c) vs. Toru Yano

NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome night two, Sunday, September 5 --

  • IWGP World Heavyweight Championship: Shingo Takagi (c) vs. EVIL
  • IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship: Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr. (c) vs. Tetsuya Naito & SANADA vs. Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI
  • IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship: Robbie Eagles (c) vs. Hiromu Takahashi