Skip to main content

Title change at NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 15 night one


The Guerillas of Destiny are once again the IWGP Tag Team champions.

GoD regained the titles for a seventh time tonight, defeating Dangerous Tekkers, Zack Sabre Jr. and Taichi. The finish of the match had Tama Tonga strike Taichi with his own fingers of doom glove. Tanga Loa then pinned Taichi with his sitout piledriver, giving their team the win.

Taichi and Sabre held the titles for 176 days, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi and Kota Ibushi at Dominion on July 12. With their seventh title win, GoD have now surpassed Tencozy (Hiroyoshi Tenzan and Satoshi Kojima) for the most IWGP Tag Team title reigns as a team in history. 

GoD received a title match after winning the 2020 World Tag League, defeating Juice Robinson and David Finlay in the finals. It was the first time they had won the World Tag League after appearing in the finals for the last four years.