Skip to main content

Title matches announced for NJPW's Golden Series tour

Okada will defend the IWGP World Heavyweight title against Naito on February 20.


Title matches have been announced for NJPW’s Golden Series tour that begins on January 20 and will run through February 20.

The final two nights of shows in Hokkaido will have title matches. On February 20, Kazuchika Okada will defend the IWGP World Heavyweight title against Tetsuya Natio, Toru Yano will face Minoru Suzuki for the KOPW 2022 provisional trophy, and NEVER Six Man Tag Team Champions EVIL, Yujiro Takahashi, and SHO are set to defend against Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI, and YOH. 

February 19 will have Hiroshi Tanahashi defending the IWGP United States title against SANADA, Hirooki Goto and YOSHI-HASHI defending the IWGP Tag Team titles against EVIL and Yujiro Takahashi, and IWGP Junior Tag Team Champions Robbie Eagles and Tiger Mask defending against El Phantasmo and Taiji Ishimori.

Additionally, Tomohiro Ishii will challenge for the NEVER title against EVIL in a lumberjack match February 13 in Osaka, while El Desperado will defend the IWGP Junior Heavyweight title against Master Wato on February 11 in Miyagi.

The championship matches come as a result of events that went down at Wrestle Kingdom 16 earlier this month. After defeating Jeff Cobb, Naito challenged Okada at the end of the January 3 card, with Okada accepting. Master Wato pinned Desperado in a tag match on the January 5 card, and Toru Yano ended up handcuffing Suzuki to the ring ropes following their match.