Skip to main content

Two wrestlers advance to semifinals of NJPW World TV title tournament

The tournament quarter-finals kicked off Thursday from Korakuen Hall.

The first semifinal match in the NJPW World TV title tournament is set. 

The tournament continued on Thursday from Tokyo's Korakuen Hall. EVIL defeated YOSHI-HASHI in the semi-main event and Zack Sabre Jr. defeated David Finlay to close out the show. ZSJ and EVIL will face off against each other in the semi-finals on November 5. 

The final two quarter-final matches in the tournament will take place Sunday, October 30 from Chiba. SANADA will face KENTA and Toru Yano will take on Ren Narita on the show.  

NJPW TV Championship tournament results:

  • David Finlay defeated Yoshinobu Kanemaru (October 14)
  • Zack Sabre Jr. defeated Alex Zayne (October 14)
  • Yoshi-HASHI defeated Jeff Cobb (October 15)
  • EVIL defeated Aaron Henare (October 15)
  • SANADA defeated Taichi (October 16)
  • KENTA defeated Hirooki Goto (October 16)
  • Toru Yano defeated Great-O-Khan (October 26)
  • Ren Narita defeated Tomohiro Ishii (October 26)
  • Zack Sabre Jr defeated David Finlay (October 27) (quarter-final)
  • EVIL defeated Yoshi-HASHI (October 27) (quarter-final)
  • SANADA vs. KENTA (October 30) (quarter-final)
  • Toru Yano vs. Ren Narita (October 30) (quarter-final)
  • Zack Sabre. Jr. vs. EVIL (November 5) (Semi-final #1_ 
  • Semi-final #2 (November 5)
  • Finals (January 4)

NJPW also announced on Thursday that for the first time in three years, Fantasticamania will return in 2023. CMLL stars will travel to Japan for the tour beginning on February 22 in Tachikawa and concluding with two back-to-back shows from Korakuen Hall on February 27 & 28. 

NJPW Battle Autumn October 27 results:

  • Aaron Henare defeated Ryohei Oiwa
  • Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano defeated Yuto Nakashima & Ren Narita
  • Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan defeated Tomoaki Honma & Togi Makabe
  • Titan, BUSHI, & Hiromu Takahashi defeated Gideon Grey, TJP, & Francesco Akira
  • Master Wato, Hikuleo, Hiroshi Tanahashi, & Alex Zayne defeated TAKA Michinoku, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Taichi, & El Desperado
  • Tetsuya Naito & SANADA defeated Gedo & KENTA
  • EVIL defeated Yoshi-HASHI to advance to the NJPW World TV title tournament semifinals
  • Zack Sabre Jr defeated David Finlay to advance to the NJPW World TV title tournament semifinals