Skip to main content

Full list of 2020 WWE NXT year-end award winners


NXT closed out 2020 by announcing their year-end award winners tonight.

Io Shirai won both the Overall Competitor of the Year and Female Competitor of the Year awards. For the second straight year, Adam Cole won Male Competitor of the Year.

Cole's feud with Pat McAfee also won Rivalry of the Year and Undisputed Era were named Tag Team of the Year. This is the third straight year that Undisputed Era have won Tag Team of the Year.

Finn Balor and Kyle O'Reilly's NXT Championship match from TakeOver 31 won the Match of the Year award. A rematch of NXT's 2020 Match of the Year will kick off 2021 as Balor defends his title against O'Reilly at NXT New Year's Evil next Wednesday (January 6).

The awards were decided by voting from fans, Performance Center coaches, members of the professional wrestling media, and WWE Hall of Famers and legends. The full list of winners is available below:

Breakout Star of the Year --

Winner: Shotzi Blackheart

Other nominees:

  • Pat McAfee
  • Damian Priest
  • Cameron Grimes
  • Dexter Lumis
  • Timothy Thatcher
  • Raquel Gonzalez
  • Santos Escobar
  • Ilja Dragunov

Rivalry of the Year --

Winner: Adam Cole vs. Pat McAfee

Other nominees:

  • Candice LeRae vs. Io Shirai
  • Damian Priest vs. Johnny Gargano
  • Dexter Lumis vs. Cameron Grimes
  • Shotzi Blackheart vs. Robert Stone
  • Rhea Ripley vs. Raquel Gonzalez
  • WALTER vs. Ilja Dragunov
  • Kay Lee Ray vs. Piper Niven

Tag Team of the Year --

Winner: Undisputed Era

Other nominees:

  • Oney Lorcan & Danny Burch
  • Breezango
  • Imperium
  • Gallus
  • Legado Del Fantasma

Male Competitor of the Year --

Winner: Adam Cole

Other nominees:

  • Finn Balor
  • Johnny Gargano
  • Keith Lee
  • Tommaso Ciampa

Female Competitor of the Year --

Winner: Io Shirai

Other nominees: 

  • Rhea Ripley
  • Candice LeRae
  • Dakota Kai
  • Kay Lee Ray
  • Tegan Nox

Event of the Year --

Winner: NXT TakeOver: WarGames

Other nominees:

  • UK TakeOver: Blackpool II
  • TakeOver: Portland
  • TakeOver: In Your House
  • Great American Bash
  • TakeOver XXX
  • TakeOver 31
  • Halloween Havoc

Future Star --

Winner: Austin Theory

Other nominees:

  • Jake Atlas
  • Leon Ruff
  • Kacy Catanzaro
  • Kayden Carter
  • Indi Hartwell
  • Xia Li
  • A-Kid
  • Aoife Valkyrie
  • Pretty Deadly

Match of the Year --

Winner: Finn Balor vs. Kyle O’Reilly for the NXT Championship - TakeOver 31

Other nominees:

  • Fatal four-way Iron Man match for the NXT Championship: Finn Balor vs. Tommaso Ciampa vs. Adam Cole vs. Johnny Gargano - Super Tuesday
  • Adam Cole vs. Finn Balor for the NXT Championship - Super Tuesday II
  • One Final Beat: Johnny Gargano vs. Tommaso Ciampa - NXT TV
  • Keith Lee vs. Adam Cole for the NXT Championship and NXT North American Championship - Great American Bash
  • Five-way ladder match for the NXT North American Championship - TakeOver XXX
  • TLS match for the NXT Women's Championship: Io Shirai vs. Candice LeRae - Halloween Havoc
  • WALTER vs. Ilja Dragunov for the NXT UK Championship - NXT UK TV
  • Men’s WarGames match - TakeOver: WarGames
  • Women’s WarGames match - TakeOver: WarGames
  • Charlotte Flair vs. Rhea Ripley vs. Io Shirai for the NXT Women's Championship - TakeOver: In Your House
  • Ladder match for the NXT UK Tag Team titles: Gallus vs. Imperium vs. Grizzled Young Veterans vs. Mark Andrews & Flash Morgan Webster - UK TakeOver: Blackpool II
  • Tyler Bate vs. Jordan Devlin - UK TakeOver: Blackpool II
  • Bronson Reed vs. Roderick Strong vs. Johnny Gargano - NXT TV
  • Fight Pit match: Matt Riddle vs. Timothy Thatcher - NXT TV

Overall Competitor of the Year --

Winner: Io Shirai

Other nominee:

  • Adam Cole