Skip to main content

Io Shirai & Kay Lee Ray win women's Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic

Shirai & Ray defeated Wendy Choo & Dakota Kai to win the tournament.

Io Shirai and Kay Lee Ray are the winners of this year’s women’s Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic tournament.

Shirai and Kai defeated the team of Wendy Choo and Dakota Kai in the finals of the tournament that took place tonight on NXT. The finish of the match had Shirai pinning Choo following a moonsault.

After the match, Toxic Attraction came to the ring and congratulated the team on their win. Mandy Rose told them, however, they wouldn’t be defeating Gigi Dolin and Jacy Janye for the NXT Women’s Tag Team titles. Ray agreed, with the two instead proposing that they be added to the Women’s Championship match at Stand & Deliver on April 2. The show ended with everyone, including Cora Jade, brawling.

Dakota Kai and Raquel Gonzalez won last year’s tournament on February 14, defeating Ember Moon and Shotzi Blackheart. They eventually became the first-ever NXT Women’s Tag Team Champions the following month.