Skip to main content

O'Reilly vs. Lorcan added to WWE NXT, Dain vs. Wolfe pulled


Update --

Killian Dain vs. Alexander Wolfe had originally been announced for tonight's NXT but will no longer be taking place. In a video WWE posted before tonight's show, Wolfe said he had a stomach bug and couldn't wrestle Dain tonight. Wolfe's Imperium stablemates Marcel Barthel and Fabian Aichner were skeptical about Wolfe's illness.

Wolfe and Dain were formerly stablemates in SAnitY. On NXT two weeks ago, Wolfe wouldn't hit Dain with a steel chair when Barthel ordered him to. But Wolfe did stand in Dain's way when Dain tried to send Barthel into the ring post. Barthel reversed the move and sent Dain into the ring post instead. Barthel & Aichner then hit the Euro Bomb on Drake Maverick and pinned him to win a tag match.


WWE has added another match to the card for tonight's NXT.

Kyle O'Reilly will face Oney Lorcan on tonight's episode of NXT. The match was set up by an angle where Lorcan interrupted an interview with O'Reilly as O'Reilly was arriving for tonight's show. Lorcan said O'Reilly can't beat Karrion Kross, Finn Balor, or Pete Dunne -- and he wouldn't be able to beat Lorcan one-on-one either. O'Reilly then challenged Lorcan to face him in the ring tonight.

O'Reilly, Balor, and Dunne all interrupted NXT Champion Kross on last week's NXT. That led to a brawl breaking out. When Kross was the only one left in the ring, NXT North American Champion Johnny Gargano and Austin Theory ambushed Kross and laid him out.

Kross is facing Theory in a non-title match on NXT tonight. WWE has announced that Kross vs. Theory will open tonight's show.

This will be the first time Lorcan has wrestled since unsuccessfully challenging for Kushida's NXT Cruiserweight Championship three weeks ago.

Here's the updated lineup for tonight's NXT:

  • NXT Women's Champion Raquel Gonzalez defends against Mercedes Martinez
  • NXT Cruiserweight Champion Kushida defends against Santos Escobar in a two-out-of-three falls match
  • Non-title match: NXT Tag Team Champions MSK vs. Breezango
  • Kyle O'Reilly vs. Oney Lorcan
  • Non-title match: NXT Champion Karrion Kross vs. Austin Theory