Skip to main content

WWE announces Heritage Cup for NXT UK


Update --

WWE has announced that "following the tournament, the NXT UK Heritage Cup will be defended as a championship under the same rules."


An eight-man tournament with British Rounds rules will soon kick off on NXT UK.

WWE announced today that the Heritage Cup tournament is coming to NXT UK. Seven of the eight participants for the tournament have been revealed. They are: Flash Morgan Webster, Noam Dar, Alexander Wolfe, A-Kid, Dave Mastiff, Joseph Conners, and Trent Seven.

Here are the rules for Heritage Cup matches:

  • There will be six rounds for tournament matches. Each round will be three minutes.
  • There will be 20-second breaks between each round.
  • All matches are two-out-of-three falls.
  • Falls can be won by pinfall, submission, or countout.
  • Once a fall occurs, the round ends.
  • Once someone has won two falls, they are declared the winner and they advance in the tournament.
  • If there's a disqualification or knockout, the match ends.
  • If a match goes the full six rounds, whoever is ahead on falls wins.

More details for the tournament will be announced on NXT UK next Thursday (September 17). The episode will feature NXT UK's return to new in-ring action for the first time since events were paused in March due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The tapings for NXT UK's return are being done at BT Sport studios in London, England with no fans in attendance.