Skip to main content

WWE to crown new NXT Champion on Tuesday night


A new NXT Champion will be crowned this Tuesday night.

With Samoa Joe vacating the title, WWE has announced that the winner of Pete Dunne, Tommaso Ciampa, Kyle O'Reilly, and LA Knight's fatal four-way match on Tuesday's episode of NXT will become the new NXT Champion. The four-way match was originally supposed to determine a number one contender to Joe's title.

Joe posted a video on Sunday night announcing that he was relinquishing the NXT Championship effective immediately. Joe said that, due to certain injuries, WWE medical informed him that they'd like him to step away from the ring for a "brief but still indeterminate" amount of time.

Joe said he'd be back shortly to collect the NXT Championship from whoever wins it.

At TakeOver 36 last month, Joe defeated Karrion Kross to win the NXT Championship. Joe was then confronted by Dunne, O'Reilly, and Knight on the post-TakeOver episode of NXT. Ciampa also got involved in that segment and fought with Dunne and Ridge Holland.

NXT's revamp will kick off with this week's episode. The revamp is being called "NXT 2.0."

Here's the updated lineup for Tuesday's episode:

  • Fatal four-way match to determine new NXT Champion: Pete Dunne vs. Tommaso Ciampa vs. Kyle O'Reilly vs. LA Knight
  • NXT Women's Champion Raquel Gonzalez defends against Franky Monet
  • The wedding of Indi Hartwell & Dexter Lumis