Skip to main content

WWE reveals teams for 2022 men's Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic

The eight-team tournament begins on NXT this Tuesday.

The full slate of teams for this year's men's Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic has been revealed.

WWE announced the list of participants for the eight-team tournament on social media today. The team that wins the tournament will challenge Imperium (Marcel Barthel & Fabian Aichner) for the NXT Tag Team titles.

The teams that will be taking part in the tournament are:

  • MSK (Wes Lee & Nash Carter)
  • Josh Briggs & Brooks Jensen
  • Jacket Time (Kushida & Ikemen Jiro)
  • Malik Blade & Edris Enofe
  • The Grizzled Young Veterans (Zack Gibson & James Drake)
  • Chase U (Andre Chase & Bodhi Hayward)
  • Legado del Fantasma (Raul Mendoza & Joaquin Wilde)
  • The Creed Brothers (Julius & Brutus Creed)

The bracket for the Dusty Classic has yet to be announced. The tournament will kick off on this Tuesday's episode of NXT.

MSK are looking to repeat as Dusty Classic winners. They lost the NXT Tag Team titles to Imperium at Halloween Havoc last October.

Finn Balor & Samoa Joe, The Authors of Pain, Undisputed Era's Adam Cole & Kyle O'Reilly, Aleister Black & Ricochet, and Matt Riddle & Pete Dunne have also won the men's Dusty Classic in previous years.

Blade & Enofe qualified for the Dusty Classic by defeating Joe Gacy & Harland by disqualification on the most recent episode of NXT. Harland got disqualified for not obeying the referee's five count as he was attacking Blade in the corner.

The women's Dusty Classic is also returning for 2022. That tournament will begin in February.