Skip to main content

Daily pro wrestling history (01/02): Arn Anderson wins WCW TV Title

Arn Anderson.jpg


Kansas City, Kansas:
- World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown beat Bobby Bruns 2 out of 3 falls
- Ray Villmer beat Ernie Dusek 2 out of 3 falls
- Ed Virag defeated Karl Von Herbert 


Portland, Oregon:
- Herb Freeman and Henry Lenz defeated Kurt Von Himmler and Juan Oinada for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Titles

Kansas City, Kansas:
- World Champion Dick Hutton beat Thor Hagen 2 falls to 1 to retain the title
- Ronnie Etchison and Sonny Myers beat Lou Plummer and Tommy O’Toole 2 falls to 1
- Otto Von Krupp beat Bobby Bruns 


Atlanta, Georgia:
- Fred Blassie defeated Ray Gunkel to win the NWA Georgia Southern Heavyweight Title


Fargo, North Dakota:
- AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Moose Evans
- AWA Tag Team Champions Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff beat Larry Hennig & Pepe Gonzales
- Karol Kalmikoff drew Pepe Gonzales


Waterloo, Iowa:
- Sonny Myers defeated Tom Clark for the Central States version of the NWA United States Heavyweight Title 


Dothan, Alabama:
- Dick Dunn defeated Rocket Monroe to win the NWA Alabama Heavyweight Title


Honolulu, Hawaii:
- Ripper Collins defeated Johnny Barend for the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title


St. Louis, Missouri:
- NWA Champion Terry Funk beat Pat O'Connor
- Dick the Bruiser & Rocky Johnson beat Ox Baker & Stan Stasiak
- Missouri State Champion Harley Race drew Rufus R Jones
- AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel no contest Joe Blanchard
- Jerry Oates beat Lord Alfred Hayes dq


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
- Cage match: The Crusher beat Mad Dog Vachon
- Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell & Bill Francis beat Pierre Poisson & Moose Morowski & Baron Von Raschke
- Larry Hennig beat Bobby Duncum
- Roger Kirby beat Peter Maivia dq
- Chris Taylor beat Rodeo Jones


Tampa, Florida:
- Dick Slater defeated Jos LeDuc to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title 

St. Joseph, Missouri:
- Randy Alls (Randy Rose) defeated Dick Murdoch to win the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title 


San Francisco, California:
- Ox Baker defeated Bruiser Brody for the World Class American Heavyweight Title 


Orlando, Florida:
- Mike Graham and Barry Windham defeated The Cowboy Connection (Bobby Jaggers and R.T. Tyler) to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title 


Hampton, Virginia:
- Jimmy Valiant defeated Ivan Koloff for the NWA Television Title 


Memphis, Tennessee:
- Jacques Rougeau defeated Sabu the Wildman (Coco Samoa) to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title 


Kansas City, Kansas:
- The MOD Squad (Basher and Spike) defeated Todd Champion and Dave Peterson for the NWA Central States Tag Team Titles


Tokyo, Japan:
- Yoshiaki Yatsu & Jumbo Tsuruta beat Genichiro Tenryu & Ashara Hara
- Wajima beat Abdullah The Butcher dq
- John Tenta won battle royal
- Tiger Mask II (Misawa) beat AWA Champion Curt Hennig COR
- John Tenta & Great Kabuki beat Black Assassin & TNT
- Akira Taue & Shohei Giant Baba beat Buddy Landel & Paul Harris


Gainesville, Georgia:
- Arn Anderson defeated The Great Muta to win the NWA World Television Title


Memphis, Tennessee:
- Danny Davis defeated Joseph Magliano (Joey Maggs) for the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title 


Morresville, North Carolina:
- The Equalizer and George South defeated The Italian Stallion and Star Ryder to win the Pro Wrestling Federation Tag Team Championship


Memphis, Tennessee:
- Brian Christopher defeated Wolfie D to win the USWA Heavyweight Title


Mexico City, Mexico:
- Mascara Dorada defeated Negro Casas Jr in a tournament final to win  the vacant CMLL welterweight title


1941 - Roland Kirchmeyer beat Bulldog Lee Henning

1964 - Eddie Graham beat Bob Orton Sr. via DQ (Jacksonville)

1965 - Corsica Joe & Corsica Jean beat Lou Bastien (Lou Klein) & Dick Steinborn (Lakeland)

1967 - Lester Welch & Sammy Steamboat beat The Infernos (Fort Myers)

1967 - Don Curtis & Jose Lothario drew Duke Keomuke & Taki Yamaguchi over 60:00 (Orlando)

1968 - Joe Scarpa (Jay Strongbow) beat Johnny Valentine (Tampa)

1969 - Jack Brisco & Nick Kozak beat The Medics (Interns) (Jacksonville)

1973 - Dick Slater beat Bob Griffin in a loser leaves town match (Fort Myers)

1974 - Dusty Rhodes beat Paul Jones via DQ (Miami Beach)

1979 - Harley Race drew Terry Funk over 60:00 to retain the NWA title (Tampa)

1980 - Dusty Rhodes beat Bugsy McGraw in a lights out match (Miami Beach)

1983 - Barry Windham & Ron Bass beat Jake Roberts & Kevin Sullivan in a double bullrope match (Orlando)

1984 - Blackjack Mulligan beat Ron Bass in a chain match (West Palm Beach)

1985 - Ric Flair beat Sweet Brown Sugar (Skip Young) to retain the NWA title (Miami Beach)