Skip to main content

Daily pro wrestling history (03/25): AWA Champion and WWWF Champion wrestle to a double count out

Nick Bockwinkel.jpg


Kansas City, Missouri: (11,000 attendance)
- World Heavyweight champion Frank Gotch beat Raoul de Rouen 2 falls to 0 
- The Dago Kid beat Tommy Mowatt 
- Charlie Baker beat Vic Snyder 


Columbus, Ohio:
- Frank Sexton defeated George McCloud to become the first Ohio Heavyweight Champion


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Buddy Gilbert and Ron Reed defeated Rocky Hamilton and Dutch Savage to win the Central States NWA North American Tag Team Titles


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
- AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Killer Kowalski & The Alaskan in 2 out of 3 falls
- Mad Dog Vachon beat Reggie Parks
- Doug Gilbert beat Mitsu Arakawa (sub Chris Markoff) dq 
- Moose Cholak drew Jack Lanza


Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada:
- Don Leo Jonathan and Ski-Hi Jones (Grizzly Smith) defeated The Assassins for the Vancouver NWA Canadian Tag Team Titles


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Wahoo McDaniel defeated Superstar Billy Graham in an Indian strap match 
- Dusty Rhodes & Dick Murdoch beat The Crusher & Bull Bullinski in 2 out of 3 falls
- Bill Watts beat Ivan Koloff by dq
- Rene Goulet beat Bill Crouch 
- Reggie Parks beat Ric Flair 
- Jim Brunzell beat Kenny Jay


St. Louis, Missouri:
- Texas Death Match: Dick the Bruiser beat Ivan Koloff
- Missouri State Champion Jack Brisco beat Superstar Billy Graham by countout
- Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Ox Baker & Jimmy Valiant
- Ernie Ladd beat Red Bastien
- Pat O'Connor beat Bulldog Bob Brown by dq


Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
- WWWF World Heavyweight Champion Bob Backlund and AWA World Heavyweight Champion Nick Bockwinkel fought to a double-countout
- NWA United States Heavyweight Champion Ricky Steamboat defeated Ric Flair
- Greg Valentine beat Canadian Champion Dino Bravo by dq 
- NWA Tag Team Champions Jimmy Snuka & Paul Orndorff beat John Studd & Ken Patera 
- Moose Morowski beat Steve Bolus 
- Dewey Robertson beat Al Costello


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Roger Kirby and Jerry Valiant won the NWA Central States Tag Team Titles by defeating Steve Regal and Dewey Robertson


Dallas, Texas:
- Terry Gordy defeated The Great Kabuki for the World Class Texas Brass Knuckles Title 

San Juan, Puerto Rico:
- Terry Gibbs and Buddy Landel defeated Gran Apolo and King Tonga to win the WWC North American Tag Team Titles


St. Paul, Minnesota:
- Cage Match: Greg Gagne & The Crusher beat Sheik Adnan & Jerry Blackwell
- Nick Bockwinkel beat Blackjack Mulligan dq
- Mr. Saito beat Baron Von Raschke
- Steve O drew Larry Zbyszko
- Stan Lane & Steve Keirn beat Jake Milliman & Jesse Ventura
- Kevin Kelly beat Kenny Jay
- Steve Regal defeated Buck Zumhofe to win the AWA World Light Heavyweight Title 


Dallas, Texas:
- Iceman King Parsons defeated Kerry Von Erich for the World Class World Heavyweight Title 


Rochester, Minnesota:
- The Olympians (Ken Patera and Brad Rheingans) defeated Badd Company (Paul Diamond and Pat Tanaka) to win the AWA World Tag Team
- Tommy Jammer drew Colonel DeBeers


Memphis, Tennessee:
- The Cyberpunks, PG-13 (JC Ice and Wolfie D wearing mask) defeated Doug Gilbert and Tommy Rich for the USWA Tag Team Titles


Nashville, Tennessee:
- The Tennessee Volunteers (Steven Dunn and Reno Riggins) defeated Brian Christopher and Spellbinder for the NWA North American Tag Team Titles


Tunica, Mississippi:
- Jerry Lawler defeated Bull Pain in a tournament final to become the first Memphis Championship Wrestling Southern Heavyweight Champion 


World Wrestling Council "Honor vs. Tradicion III": Carolina, Puerto Rico:
- Cassidy Riley and James Storm defeated WWC World Tag Team Champions Chris Joel and Alex Montalvo to win the title
- El Bronco defeated WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Champion Julio Estrada in a Street Fight to win the title
- Lance Hoyt defeated WWC Universal Heavyweight Champion Amenazá Bryan by forfeit to win the title
- Black Pain defeated WWC Universal Heavyweight Champion Lance Hoyt to win the title
- Eddie Colón defeated Matt Morgan


Dragon Gate Memorial Gate 2007: Tsu, Japan:
- Genki Horiguchi defeated Open the Brave Gate Champion Matt Sydal to win the title
- CIMA, Ryo Saito and Susumu Yokosuka defeated Naruki Doi, Gamma and Masato Yoshino to win the Open the Triangle Gate title 
- Jushin Liger defeated Open the Dream Gate Champion Don Fujii to win the title