Skip to main content

Daily pro wrestling history (03/30): Brock Lesnar wins WWE Championship

brock lesnar title.jpg


New York City, New York:
- James H. McLaughlin defeated Homer Lane to win the American Collar-and-Elbow Champion 


New York City, New York:
- Miguel Perez and Antonino Rocca defeated Wildman (Jackie) Fargo and Don Stevens (Fargo) to win the Capitol 
Wrestling NWA World Tag Team Titles


Tampa, Florida:
- Dory Funk, Jr. and Terry Funk defeated Jack and Jerry Brisco to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Titles


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Terry Martin defeated Benny Ramirez
- The Viking defeated Bob Orton
- The Stomper & Steve Bolus defeated North American Tag Team Champions Chati Yokouchi & Yasu Fuji via DQ
- Harley Race & Black Angus defeated Danny Little Bear & Rufus R. Jones


Sydney, Australia:

- Ron Miller and Larry O'Day defeated Don Carson and Dick Dunn for the NWA Austra-Asian Tag Team Titles


Mobile, Alabama: 
- Rick Gibson defeated Duke Miller for the NWA Alabama Heavyweight Title


Sacramento, California:
- Bob Roop and Alexis Smirnoff defeated Pepper Gomez and Pat Patterson to win the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Titles


Puebla, Mexico:
- Eric Embry defeated El Solitario to win the UWA World Junior Light Heavyweight Title

Birmingham, Alabama:
- Ron Bass defeated Ken Lucas for the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight Title 

Memphis, Tennessee:
- Masa Fuchi and Mr. Onita (Atsushi Onita) defeated The Dream Machine and Bill Dundee to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Titles


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
- Bad News Allen defeated The Dynamite Kid to win the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title 

Mexico City, Mexico:
- Cien Caras won the Mexican National Heavyweight Title by defeating Rayo de Jalisco, Jr.


Dothan, Alabama:
- Jimmy Golden won the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight Title by defeating Boomer Lynch


Bayamón, Puerto Rico:
- TNT (Savio Vega) defeated Action Jackson to win the WWC Television Title 

Tokyo, Japan:
- The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart and Jim Neidhart) defeated The Rockers (Marty Jannetty and Shawn Michaels)
- Earthquake pinned Koji Kitao
- Ted DiBiase and Haku defeated Takashi Ishikawa and The Great Kabuki
- Samson Fuyuki, Tatsumi Kitihara, Masao Orihara and Apollo Sugawara defeated Don Arakawa, Fumihiro Niikura, Kenichi Oya and Goro Tsurumi
- The Ultimate Warrior pinned Sgt. Slaughter
- Masa Funaki defeated Naoki Sano 
- Kerry Von Erich defeated WWF Intercontinental Champion Mr. Perfect by disqualification
- Ishinriki and Yoshiaki Yatsu defeated The Barbarian and Jimmy Snuka
- Randy Savage pinned George Takano
- The Legion of Doom (Animal and Hawk) defeated WWF Champion Hulk Hogan and Genichiro Tenryu 


Wrestlemania XIX: Seattle, Washington:
- Brock Lesnar defeated Kurt Angle to win the WWE Championship
- WWE Cruiserweight Champion Matt Hardy pinned Rey Mysterio
- WWE Tag Champs Shelton Benjamin & Charlie Haas defeated Chris Benoit & Rhyno and Eddie & Chavo Guerrero
- WWE World Champ Triple H pinned Booker T 
- Hulk Hogan pinned Vince McMahon in a Streetfight
- The Rock pinned Steve Austin 


ROH All Star Extravaganza III: Detroit, Michigan:
- FIP Tag Team Champions The Briscoes (Jay and Mark) defeated ROH World Tag Team Champions Naruki Doi and Shingo to win the titles 
- Adam Pearce (with Shane Hagadorn) defeated Colt Cabana, Chris Hero (with Larry Sweeney and Tank Toland) and Matt Sydal in a Four Corners Survival match
- Yamato defeated Pelle Primeau
- Brent Albright (with Larry Sweeney) defeated Nigel McGuiness
- Homicide defeated Christopher Daniels
- FIP Heavyweight Champion Roderick Strong defeated Jack Evans
- CIMA, Dragon Kid, Ryo Saito and Susumu Yokosuka defeated Austin Aries, Claudio Castagnoli, Delirious and Rocky Romero in a Dragon Gate Rules match


Wrestlemania XXIV: Orlando, Florida:
- Undertaker defeated Edge to win the World Title 
- Shawn Michaels defeated Ric Flair in Ric Flair's retirement match
- JBL defeated Fit Finlay in a Belfast Brawl
- CM Punk won a Money in the Bank Ladder Match
- Batista defeated Umaga
- Kane defeated ECW Champion Chavo Guerrero to win the title
- WWE Champion Randy Orton defeated John Cena and Triple H to retain the title
- Floyd Mayweather defeated Big Show