Skip to main content

Daily Pro Wrestling History (06/26): Steiner Brothers win IWGP tag titles



St. Louis, Missouri:
- Dick Shikat defeated Jim Clinstock
- Rudy Dusek defeated Jack Washburn
- Joe "Toots" Mondt 
- Charles Strack went to a time limit draw


- Everett Marshall defeated Ali Baba for the NWA (National Wrestling Association) Heavyweight Wrestling Title


Kansas City, Kansas:
- World Heavyweight Champion Lee Wykoff defeated Orville Brown in 2 out of 3 falls
- Jack Kennedy beat Steve Brody in 2 out of 3 falls 
- Joe Cox beat Rudy Strongberg


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Orville Brown beat Jack McDonald to retain the MWA Title
- Wally Dusek beat Fred Blassie
- Tug Carlson beat Ralph Garibaldi 
- Jack Hader beat Jack Page


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- AWA Champion Mr. M beat Larry Hennig
- Verne Gagne & Doug Gilbert beat Bob Geigel & Crybaby Cannon 
- Joe Scarpello beat Stan Kowalski


Denver, Colorado:
- AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Fritz von Erich by DQ
- The Crusher beat Art Thomas
- Wahoo McDaniel beat Mitsu Arakawa 
- Larry Hennig beat Doug Gilbert


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Verne Gagne beat AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon on a 3rd fall count out
- The Crusher beat Chris Markoff
- Mighty Igor Vodik beat Harley Race
- Larry Hennig beat Ivan Kalmikoff 
- Wilbur Snyder beat Pampero Firpo by DQ


El Paso, Texas:
- AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat The Medics
- Light Heavyweight Champion Gory Guerrero beat Jerry Kozak
- North American Champion Dory Funk Jr beat Thunderbolt Patterson 
- Texas Women's Champion Kay Noble beat Pat Howard


Minneapolis,  Minnesota:
- Verne Gagne & Bill Watts beat Larry Hennig & Harley Race in 2 out of 3 falls
- Wilbur Snyder beat Dr X 2-0 
- Man Mountain Mike beat Big K 
- Dutch Savage beat Frankie Laine

Honolulu, Hawaii:
- Peter Maivia and Billy White Wolf defeated Curtis Iaukea and Ripper Collins to win the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Titles


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
- In a Loser Leaves Town Match; The Crusher beat Strong Kobayashi
- Nick Bockwinkel beat Bull Bullinski
- Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson beat Moose Cholak & Paul Diamond
- Don Muraco beat Black Jack Lanza by DQ
- Big K beat Bill Howard

Chicago, Illinois:
- AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon
- Baron Von Raschke beat Wilbur Snyder
- Hans Schmidt beat Sailor Art Thomas
- Billy Robinson beat Angelo Poffo

Honolulu, Hawaii:
- Ripper Collins and Mad Dog Mayne defeated Sunni War Cloud and Steven Little Bear for the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Titles


Tampa, Florida:
- Johnny Valentine defeated Ron Fuller for the Florida version of the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title 


Tokyo, Japan:
- Antonio Inoki defeated Tiger Jeet Singh to win the National Wrestling Federation World Heavyweight Title 


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
- Bret Hart defeated Leo Burke to win the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title

Salt Lake City, Utah:
- AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum by DQ
- Sheik Adnan beat Baron Von Raschke
- Jerry Blackwell beat Brad Rheingans 
- Buck Zumhofe beat Jacques Goulet

San Juan, Puerto Rico:
- Invader I and Pierre Martel defeated The Kangaroos (Don Kent and Johnny Heffernan) for the WWC World Tag Team Titles


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- The Sheik's Army (Jerry Blackwell and Ken Patera) defeated The High Flyers (Jim Brunzell and Greg Gagne) to win the AWA World Tag Team Titles
- AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Wahoo McDaniel
- Baron Von Raschke no contest Blackjack Lanza
- Bobby Heenan beat Kenny Jay
- Buck Zumhofe beat Mr. Saito dq 
- Brad Rheingans drew Rick Martel


Dallas, Texas:
- Frank Lancaster and Eric Embry defeated The Fantastics (Tommy Rogers and Bobby Fulton) to win the World Class Tag Team Titles


Tokyo, Japan:
- Bull Nakano defeated Yumiko Hotta in the finals of the fourth-annual AJW Grand Prix Tournament 


Wichita, Kansas:
- Steve Austin defeated Sam Houston (sub. for Tim Horner)
- Big Josh defeated Joey Maggs (sub. for Black Blood)
- Sting defeated Arn Anderson (sub. for Dan Spivey) via disqualification
- Rick Steiner fought Jimmy Garvin to a double count-out
- Tom Zenk defeated the Diamond Studd
- Bobby Eaton & Dustin Rhodes defeated Terry Taylor & Richard Morton
- WCW US Champion Lex Luger & Sting defeated Arn Anderson & Barry Windham


Tokyo, Japan:

- Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Yamamoto defeated Koji Kanemoto & Osamu Nishimura
- Super Strong Machine pinned Chris Benoit
- Kokina & Samu defeated Scott Norton & Killer Bee (B. Brian Blair) 
- El Samurai pinned IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion Jushin Liger to win the title
- The Great Muta & Hiroshi Hase defeated the Black Cat & Takayuki Iizuka 
- Hiroshi Hase pinned Kensuke Sasaki 
- The Steiner Brothers (Rick and Scott Steiner) defeated Big Van Vader and Bam Bam Bigelow to win the IWGP World Tag Team Titles
- Riki Choshu pinned Masahiro Chono


Roanoke, Virgina:
- 2 Cold Scorpio & Marcus Alexander Bagwell defeated Tex Slazenger & Shanghai Pierce 
- Jim Neidhart pinned the Italian Stallion 
- Ron Simmons pinned Wrecking Crew Rage
- Dustin Rhodes pinned Big Sky (sub. for WCW World Champion Big Van Vader) 
- Sting & Davey Boy Smith defeated Lord Steven Regal & Dick Slater (sub. for NWA World Champion Barry Windham & WCW TV Champion Paul Orndorff)
- Ric Flair & Arn Anderson defeated WCW/NWA Tag Team Champions Steve Austin & Brian Pillman in a non-title match


Sapporo, Japan:
- Yoshiko Tamura defeated Misae Watanabe for the vacant AJW Junior Title

Memphis, Tennessee:
- Billy Jack Haynes defeated Brian Christopher for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title 


Tokyo, Japan:
- Masato Tanaka, Kouji Nakagawa and Tetsuhiro Kuroda defeated Super Leather and The Headhunters to win the FMW World Street Fight Six-Man Tag Team Titles


New York City:
- Albert (A-Train) defeated Kane for the WWF Intercontinental Title in New York City 


ROH Best of the World: New York City:
- Davey Richards defeated Eddie Edwards to win the ROH World Title 
- El Generico defeated Christopher Daniels to win the ROH TV Title
- ROH Tag Team champions Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin defeated Kings of Wrestling (with Sara del Rey and Shane Hagadorn), The Briscoes and the All Night Express to retain the titles