Skip to main content

Daily pro wrestling history (12/18): Daniel Bryan becomes WWE World Champion

Daniel Bryan


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Orville Brown beat Al Lovelock to retain the MWA Title
- Fred Blassie beat Yukon Eric (as Eric Holmback) 2 falls to 1 


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Non Title: Verne Gagne & Mighty Igor Vodik beat AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race
- Chris Markoff beat The Crusher dq
- Ivan Kalmikoff beat Danny Plechas
- Larry Heiniemi beat Jack Pesek
- Terry Funk beat Guy Taylor


Bristol, England:
- Tony Charles defeated Al Hayes (Lord Hayes) to win the Southern Area title


Houston, Texas:
- Toru Tanaka defeated Fritz Von Erich to win the NWA American Heavyweight Title (later to become the World Class World Heavyweight Title)


Tokyo, Japan:
- Giant Baba won All Japan Pro Wrestling's 20-man Open Championship tournament, beating out second place finishers Abdullah The Butcher and Dory Funk Jr. by one point


Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
- Ricky Steamboat defeated Ric Flair to win the NWA United States Title

Tokyo, Japan:
- Antonio Inoki declares himself the inaugural Martial Arts title holder


Chicago, Illinois:
- AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Tito Santana
- Hulk Hogan & Dick The Bruiser beat Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum
- Jesse Ventura beat Baron Von Raschke
- Bobby Heenan & Jerry Blackwell beat Rick Martel & Spike Huber
- Jerry Lawler beat Steve Regal
- Tom Lintz beat Sonny Rogers


Chicago, Illinois:
- AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Blackjack Lanza by countout
- AWA Tag Team Champions Jerry Blackwell & Ken Patera beat Greg Gagne & Rick Martel
- Mad Dog Vachon & the Crusher (sub for Hogan) beat Mr. Saito & Jesse Ventura
- Billy Robinson beat Superstar Billy Graham
- Buck Zumhofe beat Ray Stevens
- Brad Rheingans beat Bill White


Acapulco, Mexico:
- Blue Panther defeated Satanico in a tournament final to become the first CMLL World Middleweight Title 


Breman, Germany:
- Hiroyoshi Yamamoto (Tenzan) defeated Alex Wright to win the CWA Jr heavyweight title


- Big Show defeated Mark Henry to win the World Championship in a chair match 
- Daniel Bryan cashed in the Money in the Bank briefcase and defeated the Big Show to become new World Champion
- WWE Champion CM Punk defeated Alberto Del Rio and The Miz in a TLC match to retain the title


1956 - Argentina Rocca beat Wild Red Berry (Tampa)

1956 - Angelo Martinelli beat Francois Miquet (Sarasota)

1958 - Enrique Torres beat Mike Sharpe (Miami Beach)

1964 - The Assassins beat Eddie Graham & Sammy Steamboat via DQ (Jacksonville)

1965 - Klondike Bill & Dick Steinborn beat Kurt & Karl Von Brauner (Fort Lauderdale)

1968 - The Medics (Interns) beat Jose Lothario & Wahoo McDaniel ( Tampa)

1969 - Dory Funk Jr. beat Hiro Matsuda to retain the NWA title (Miami Beach)

1970 - Thunderbolt Patterson baet Tarzan Tyler in a cage match (Jacksonville)

1973 - Jack Brisco beat Jimmy Golden to retain the NWA tilte (Orlando)

1974 - Mongolian Stomper beat Dusty Rhodes in a Taped fist death match (Tampa)

1975 - Terry Funk beat Cyclone Negro to retain the NWA title (Miami Beach)

1980 - Dick Murdoch beat Dusty Rhodes via DQ (Miami Beach)
1982 - Dusty Rhodes beat Jake Roberts (Ocala)