Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: 2nd Steve Austin WWE title reign begins, infamous Stan Hansen AWA title belt stripping story

By Brian Hoops,

1923 - In St. Louis, Wladek Zbyszko beat Carl Wendell and Harry “Speedy” Schaeffer beat Steve Sanders

1939 - In Kansas City, Mike Kilonis beat Prospector Pete in 2 out of 3 falls and Wladek Zbyszko defeated Walter Sirois.

1944 - Lee Wykoff beat Dave Levin in Kansas City to capture the MWA World Heavyweight Title.

1963 - At Midway Stadium in St. Paul, MN; Crusher beat Moose Evans in 2 out of 3 falls,AWA Tag Team Champions Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff beat Tiny Mills & Stan Kowalski, Don McClarty beat Joe "Tiger" Tomasso and Doug Gilbert no contest Iron Mike DiBiase; In Waterloo, Iowa; AWA Champion Verne Gagne defeated Bob Orton, The Medics defeated Steve Bolus & Steve Kovacs and Bob Geigel beat Ray Gordon.

1967 - In Amarillo, Texas; Nick Kozak won a Russian Roulette battle royal for $1,000, Kinji Shibuya beat Dory Funk Jr to win North American Title, Bearcat Wright & Thunderbolt Patterson beat AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race by dq and Nick Kozak drew The Alaskan.

1968 - In Bloomington, MN; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Larry Hennig, The Crusher & Bill Watts beat Harley Race & Dr. X and Mad Dog Vachon beat Dutch Savage. Attendance was 7,593.

1972 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; Rufus R. Jones defeated Juan Sebastian, Omar Atlas & Bob Geigel defeated Chati Yokouchi & Yasu Fuji, Harley Race beat Pat O’Connor and The Stomper & Danny Little Bear beat Roger Kirby & Black Angus; In a cage match in Fargo, ND; The Crusher beat Ivan Koloff, Wahoo McDaniel beat Larry Hennig and Dusty Rhodes beat Don Muraco

1973 - In Denver, Colorado; The Crusher & Wahoo McDaniel beat Superstar Billy Graham & Ivan Koloff in 2 out of 3 falls, Billy Robinson beat Ray Stevens via dq, Geoff Portz beat Rene Goulet and Greg Gagne beat Bill Crouch. Attendance was 6,431; Kim Sung Ho defeated Alfonso Dantes for the EMLL NWA Light Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico.

1974 - In Minneapolis, Ivan Putski beat Superstar Billy Graham by countout and Billy Robinson beat Larry Heiniemi. In Chicago, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Wahoo McDaniel & Chris Taylor and Bobo Brazil beat Baron Von Raschke by dq.

1986 - The AWA announces that since World Champion Stan Hansen refused to wrestle Nick Bockwinkel in Denver, Colorado, Hansen was being stripped of the title and Bockwinkel was named the new champion. (Hansen was ordered to lose the belt to Bockwinkel and refused and left the building, ran over the AWA belt with his pickup and mailed the belt back to Gagne). Also on the card, Verne Gagne & Greg Gagne & Jimmy Snuka beat Nord The Barbarian & Boris Zhukov & Sheik Adnan, AWA Tag Team Champions Buddy Rose & Doug Somers beat Midnight Rockers and Sherri Martel beat Candi Devine

1992 - Tom Prichard defeated Brian Christopher for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1998 - Steve Austin defeated Kane for the WWF World Heavyweight Title in Cleveland, Ohio,

1999 - The Hardy Boyz defeated Faarooq & Bradshaw for the WWF World Tag Team Title in Fayetteville, North Carolina.

2008 - Ted DiBiase and Cody Rhodes defeated Hardcore Holly to win the WWE Tag Team Titles.