Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (9/1): Ric Flair vs. Lex Luger time limit draw, Pat Patterson awarded WWF I-C title

By Brian Hoops,

1868 - Homer Lane defeated James H. McLaughlin for the American Collar-and-Elbow Title in Utica, New York.

1923 - Clarence Weber defeated Billy Meeske in Melbourne, Australia to win the Australian Heavyweight Title

1941 - Wild Red Berry defeated Danny McShain for the World Light Heavyweight Title in Hollywood, California

1946 - George Becker defeated Babe Sharkey in Portland, Oregon to win the Pacific Northwest (later Los Angeles) World Heavyweight Title.

1958 - Eddie and Jerry Graham defeated Don Curtis and Mark Lewin in Washington, DC to win the Northeast NWA United States Tag Team Title.

1967 - Killer Kowalski defeated Bearcat Wright in Melbourne, Australia for the International Wrestling Alliance World Heavyweight Title.

1972 - At Soldier Field (Home of the Bears) in Chicago, Illinois; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Ivan Koloff, Steel Cage Match, Special Ref Jersey Joe Walcott, Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat Blackjack Lanza & Blackjack Mulligan, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson & Wilbur Snyder, Dusty Rhodes beat Wahoo McDaniel Handicap Match: Andre Rousimoff beat Larry Hennig & Butcher Vachon, Baron Von Raschke beat Billy Red Cloud, Sailor Art Thomas beat Hans Hermann, Ramon Torres beat Angelo Poffo and Rene Goulet beat Don Muraco. Attendance was 12,000: Johnny Valentine defeated Johnny Powers to win the National Wrestling Federation North American Heavyweight Title in Cleveland, Ohio

1977 - Don Leo Jonathan defeated Otto Wanz for the Catch Wrestling Association World Heavyweight Title in Johannesburg, South Africa; Dory Funk, Jr. defeated Ciclón Negro in Amarillo, Texas to win the Amarillo NWA International Heavyweight Title

1978 - Pak Choo and Roddy Piper defeated Ryuma Go and Black Gordman to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title; Paddy Ryan defeated Mr. Sakurada for the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta.

1979 - Pat Patterson was introduced as the first WWF Intercontinental Champion.

1979 - Jimmy Snuka defeated Ricky Steamboat to win vacant Mid-Atlantic NWA United States Heavyweight Title during a one night tournament held in Charlotte, NC.

1980 - Tommy Rich defeated Jimmy Valiant for the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1982 - Paul Jones defeated Jack Brisco to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic Heavyweight Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1985 - American Force (Paul Diamond and Shawn Michaels) are awarded the TASW Texas Tag Team TItle in San Antonio, Texas.

1985 - In Orlando, Florida; Wahoo McDaniel & Billy Jack Haynes beat AWA Tag Team Champions Road Warriors dq, Rick Rude beat Frank Lane, Rip Oliver & Grappler beat Coco Samoa & Kendall Windham and Hector Guerrero drew Jack Hart


Championship Wrestling from Florida hosted the Battle of the Belts III card at Daytona Beach, Florida. The White Ninja (Keiji Muto) defeated NWA United States Junior Heavyweight Champion Tim Horner to win the title and Barry Windham defeated NWA Florida Heavyweight Champion Ron Bass to win the title. Also, NWA World Champion Ric Flair wrestled Lex Luger to a time limit draw. Attendance was 8,000.

Matt Borne and WCWA Texas Heavyweight Champion Buzz Sawyer defeated WCWA World Heavyweight Champion Chris Adams and WCWA World Six-Man Tag Team Champion Lance Von Erich to become the first WCWA World Tag Team Champions during the Labor Day Star Wars event in Fort Worth, Texas. Also, WCWA World Heavyweight Champion Chris Adams defeated Rick Rude by disqualification to retain the title and Abdullah the Butcher defeated Bruiser Brody by disqualification.

Tarzan Goto and Akio Sato defeated Jeff Jarrett and Pat Tanaka for the CWA International Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee. At the same show, Don Bass and Dirty Rhodes (Roger Smith) defeat Cousin Junior and Giant Hillbilly Elmer to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Title; Denny Brown defeated Steve Regal to win the NWA World Junior
Heavyweight Title in Greenville, South Carolina

1990 - Fit Finlay defeated Steve Wright in Vienna, Austria to win the CWA World Middleweight Title.

1991 - The Grappler and Don Harris defeated Demolition Crush and Steve Doll for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title in Seaside, Oregon.

1993 - Los Cowboys (Silver King and El Texano) won the WWA World Tag Team Championship in Tlanepantla, Mexico, by defeating Corazón de León (Chris Jericho) and El Dandy.

1994 - Hiromichi Fuyuki, Gedo and Jado defeated Bob Backlund, Scott Putski and Warlord to win the WAR World Six-Man Tag Team Title in Saku, Japan.

2004 - In Nashville, Tennessee; NWA World Tag Team Champions The Naturals (Andy Douglas and Chase Stevens) defeated America's Most Wanted (Chris Harris and James Storm) and Triple X (Christopher Daniels and Elix Skipper) in a three-way match to retain the title and TNA X Division Champion Petey Williams (with Coach D'Amore) defeated Sonjay Dutt to retain the title.

2011 - Mickie James defeated Winter to become TNA Knockout Champion in Huntsville, Alabama. Also, TNA World Champion Kurt Angle retained the title over Sting and Christopher Daniels defeated AJ Styles.