Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 14): CM Punk beats John Cena to unify WWE title and then loses it, Hulk Hogan "retires" Kevin Nash

By Brian Hoops,

1941 - In Kansas City at Memorial Hall; World Heavyweight Champion Lee Wykoff beat Bobby Bruns in 2 out of 3 falls, In a Texas rules match, Ray Eckert beat Carl Von Herbert

1947 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Cardiff Giant beat Warren Bockwinkel 2 falls to 1; Sockeye Jack McDonald  beat Tug Carlson, Wally Dusek beat Carlos Rodriquez and Sailor Fred Blassie drew Finice Hall

1964 - In Denver, Colorado; Mad Dog Vachon beat Jack Pesek and The Crusher beat Wilbur Snyder.

1967 - In Davenport, Iowa; in a Loser Leaves Town match; The Crusher beat Johnny Powers, Mighty Igor Vodik (sub Earl Maynard) beat Larry Hennig and Rene Goulet & Igor Vodik & Al Kashey (sub Earl Maynard) beat Steve Druk & Harley Race & Larry Hennig

1970 - In Chicago, Illinois at Comiskey Park (former home of the Chicago White Sox); AWA Tag Team Champions Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon beat Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher in 2 of three falls in a steel cage match; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Baron Von Raschke in 2 of 3 falls (Raschke was billed as the undefeated challenger); Dr X beat Paul Diamond, Ernie Ladd no contest Blackjack Lanza, Wilbur Snyder beat Mitsu Arakawa, Pepper Gomez beat Double X (XX unmasked), Dr Big Bill Miller ddq Bobo Brazil, Larry Hennig beat Red Bastien and Jean Antone & Lucille Dupree beat Linda Klein & Betty Niccoli. Attendance was 21,000.

1973 - Buddy Colt won a one night tournament to become the Macon Heavyweight Title in Macon, Georgia.

1975 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; Billy Robinson beat AWA Champion Verne Gagne on a 2nd fall dq, Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens & Baron Von Raschke beat Gene Kiniski & Jos Leduc (sub Dusty Rhodes) & Ivan Putski in 2 out of 3 falls, Pampero Firpo beat Buddy Wolff, Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant beat Bull Bullinski & Khosrow Vaziri (Iron Sheik) and Greg Gagne beat Bobby Jones. Attendance was 6,138

1981 - In Houston, Texas; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Wahoo McDaniel in 2 out of 3 falls; Southwest Tag Team Champions Gino Hernandez & Tully Blanchard vs Mil Mascaras & Manny Fernandez, Dick Slater vs Tom Prichard and Scott Casey vs Buck Robley

1982 -In Houston, Texas; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Dick Slater, In a Piledriver match, Bob Sweetan beat Jerry Lawler, Mongolian Stomper beat Terry Funk and Junkyard Dog & Ernie Ladd beat Tully Blanchard & Gino Hernandez

1984 - In Québec City; Abdullah the Butcher ddq Jos Leduc, AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Nick Bockwinkel, Dino Bravo beat King Tonga dq, Rick Valentine & Sailor White beat Raymond & Jacques Rougeau to win International Tag Team Title, Richard Charland & Frenchie Martin & Mad Dog Lefebvre beat Gino Brito Jr. & Armand Rougeau & Domenic DeNucci, Bob De La Serra beat Tony Ricco,  Henri Cardinal beat Tito Senza and Denis Goulet drew Rocky De La Serra. Attendance was 11,200; Dr. Tom Prichard and Brett Sawyer defeated Mike Miller and Mr Ebony (Tom Jones) to win the Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1999 - Balls Mahoney & Spike Dudley defeated Buh Buh Ray & D-Von Dudley in Toledo, Ohio to win the ECW World Tag Team Championship

1999 - In Sturgis, South Dakota; Harlem Heat defeated Kanyon & Bam Bam Bigelow to win the WCW World Tag Team Title at the Road Wild PPV. Also, WCW World Champion Hulk Hogan defeated Kevin Nash in a retirement match and WCW United States Champion Chris Benoit defeated Diamond Dallas Page

2000 - Rey Mysterio & Juventud Guerrera won the WCW World Tag Team Championship from Vampiro & The Great Muta.

2011 - At the SummerSlam PPV; Randy Orton defeated Christian in a no holds match to win the World Title; CM Punk defeated John Cena to unify the WWE Title. Immediately after the match, Alberto Del Rio cashed in his Money in the Bank briefcase and defeated CM Punk to win the WWE Title.