Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 20): June Byers wins NWA women's belt, Michael Shane wins TNA X-Division title

By Brian Hoops,

1951 - Terry McGinnis defeated Ted Travis to win the Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu.

1954 - June Byers defeated Mildred Burke for the NWA World Women's Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1963 - Crusher & Dick the Bruiser defeated Ivan & Karol Kalmikoff to win the AWA World Tag Team Title in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Also on the card, Haystack Calhoun beat Mike DiBiase, Don McClarty beat Tiny Mills, Larry Hennig beat Jack Allen and Paul Christy beat Bill Wright. Attendance was 5,408

1964 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Joe Scarpello fought Bulldog Plechas to a draw, Rocky Hamilton defeated The Krusher, Pat O’Connor defeated Harley Race and Mike DiBiase & Bob Geigel defeated Sailor Art Thomas & Moose Evans in three falls

1970 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Steve Bolus defeated Dale Mann, Joe Scarpello fought Tarzan Tyler to a 15 minute draw, Harley Race defeated Oki Shikina, Rufus R. Jones defeated Baron Von Raschke via DQ and Danny Little Bear defeated Roger Kirby

1977 - Chicago, Illinois at the International, Amphitheatre; Super Destroyer beat Dick the Bruiser, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Ray Stevens dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell no contest Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant, Billy Robinson beat Ivan Koloff dq, Angelo Mosca beat Pedro Morales, Chris Markoff beat Spike Huber and Bob Backlund drew Jan Nelson

1986 - Alfonso Dantes defeated Cien Caras for the Mexican Heavyweight Title in Acapulco, Mexico

1987 - Kuniaki Kobayashi defeated Nobuhiko Takada in the finals of the IWGP World Junior Heavyweight Title tournament in Sumo Hall in Tokyo, Japan.

1988 - Carlos Colon defeated Ron Starr in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico to win the WWC Television Title

1996 - Lord Steven (William) Regal defeated Lex Luger for the WCW Television Title in Dalton, Georgia.

2003 - Michael Shane defeated Chris Sabin and Frankie Kazarian in the "Ultimate X" match to win the TNA X Division Title in Nashville, Tennessee.