Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 24): Brock Lesnar vs. Kurt Angle, Ricky Steamboat beats Steve Austin for WCW U.S. title

By Brian Hoops,

1944 - Kansas City, Kansas; MWA World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown and Les Wolfe drew at the midnight closing 1 fall a piece, Jimmy Coffield beat Jack Suzek in 2 out of 3 falls, Jack Hader beat Earl Wampler, Harold “Sonny” Myers defeated Larry Tilliman by dq

1955 - Don Leo Jonathan defeated Yvon Robért for the Montreal Athletic Commission World Heavyweight Title in Montreal, Quebec.

1956 - Eddie Gossett (Graham) and Art Neilson defeated Don and Red McIntyre for the Georgia NWA World Tag Team Titles

1960 - The Fabulous Kangaroos (Al Costello and Roy Heffernan) defeated Lou and Red Bastien for the Capitol Wrestling United States Tag Team Title in Bridgeport, Connecticut; Eric Pederson defeated Joe Scarpa (Chief Jay Strongbow) to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama.

1961 - Pat O'Connor is awarded the NWA United States Heavyweight Title at the annual NWA meeting in Chicago, Illinois. The title had been vacant since Buddy Rogers won the NWA World Heavyweight Title from O'Connor on June 30.

1962 - Luther Lindsay defeated Fritz Von Goering for the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title

1963 - Tony Borne defeated Billy White Wolf to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title.

1964 Davenport, Iowa at Municipal Auditorium; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat The Crusher, Billy Red Cloud beat Larry Hennig and Mitsu Arakawa beat Sailor Art Thomas; Karl and Kurt Von Brauner defeated Al Perez and Tojo Yamamoto for the Mid-America NWA World Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1966 - Neff Maivia defeated Ripper Collins in Honolulu, Hawaii to win the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title; Giant and Moose Evans defeated Luke Graham and Karl Von Brauner in Nashville, Tennessee to win the Mid-America NWA World Tag Team Title.

1970 - Johnny Walker and Tojo Yamamoto defeat The Interns for the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1972 - Lord Alfred Hayes and Ricky Starr defeated Bobby Duncum and Dick Murdoch to win the NWA Western States Tag Team Title in Amarillo, Texas.

1973 - John Tolos defeated Victor Rivera for the NWA Americas Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California

1974 - Ricky Gibson and Steve Kovacs won the NWA Mid-America Tag Team Title from Chris Gallagher and Don Kent in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

1975 - The Crusaders (Billy Red Lyons and Dewey Robertson) defeated NWA Toronto International Tag Team Champions The Kelly Twins (Mike and Pat) to win the title in Toronto. Also, NWA Toronto United States Heavyweight Champion The Sheik defeated John Quinn to retain the title.

1977 - Dan Morrow and Bryan Turner defeated Kory Williams and Mike Woods for the NWA Mid-America Tag Team Title in Murfreesboro, Tennessee; In Miami, Florida; Rocky Johnson and Steve Keirn defeated Dutch Mantel and Buddy Roberts, NWA Florida Television Champion Pedro Morales defeated Pat Patterson to retain the title, NWA Florida Southern Heavyweight Champion Ivan Koloff defeated Don Muraco to retain the title and NWA Florida Heavyweight Champion Dusty Rhodes defeated WWWF Heavyweight Champion Superstar Billy Graham by disqualification to retain the title.

1978 - Wahoo McDaniel defeated The Spoiler to win the Florida NWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Jacksonville, Florida.

1979 - Georgia Championship Wrestling held a 14-man tournament in Augusta, Georgia for the vacant NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title. Killer Karl Kox defeated Bob Armstrong to win the vacant NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title; Dick Slater defeated The Mongolian Stomper for the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight Title in Knoxville, Tennessee.

1981 - Jerry Lawler defeated The Dream Machine in a No Disqualification match for the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee. At the same show, Bugsy McGraw defeated Steve Keirn to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title.

1984 - Chicky Starr defeated Eric Embry to win the Southwest Championship Wrestling Southwest Junior Heavyweight Title reign in San Antonio, Texas.

1986 - Fishman defeated Villano III to win the WWF World Light Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico. At the same event, El Dandy won the NWA World Welterweight Title by defeating Javier Cruz.

1987 - Don Bass defeated Jerry Lawler for the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1990 - The Steiner Brothers (Rick and Scott) defeated NWA United States Tag Team Champions The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton and Stan Lane) to win the title in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Also on the card, NWA World Heavyweight Champion Sting pinned Ric Flair to retain the title, NWA United States Heavyweight Champion Lex Luger defeated Mark Callous to retain the title and NWA World Tag Team Champions Doom (Butch Reed and Ron Simmons) defeated The Rock 'n' Roll Express (Robert Gibson and Ricky Morton).

1991 - Mark Starr defeated Ricky Fuji in Tokyo, Japan for the FMW version of the AWA World Light Heavyweight Title.

1992 - Miss Texas defeated USWA Women's Champion Lauren Davenport to win the title in Memphis, Tennessee. Also, USWA Unified World Heavyweight Champion Eddie Gilbert defeated Chris Adams to retain the title and USWA Tag Team Champions Jeff Jarrett and Jerry Lawler defeated The Moondogs (Cujo and Spike) to retain the title.

1994 - Ricky Steamboat pinned WCW United States Heavyweight Champion Steve Austin to win the title in Cedar Rapids, Iowa at the Clash of the Champions and Ric Flair (with Sensuous Sherri) defeated WCW World Heavyweight Champion Hulk Hogan (with Jimmy Hart) by countout.

2002 - 3PW held a one night tournament to determine a heavyweight champion in Philadelphia, PA, Gary Wolfe defeated Christian York to become the first 3PW Heavyweight Champion.

2002 - ROH held an event in Boston, Mass which saw ROH Heavyweight Champion Low Ki defeat A.J. Styles to retain the title.

2003 - At SummerSlam in Phoenix, Arizona; World Heavyweight Champion Triple H defeated Goldberg, Chris Jericho, Shawn Michaels, Kevin Nash and Randy Orton in an Elimination Chamber match to retain the title, WWE Champion Kurt Angle defeated Brock Lesnar by submission to retain the title and Kane pinned Rob Van Dam in a No Holds Barred match.

2007 - In Hartford, Conn; ROH World Champion Takeshi Morishima defeated Brent Albright and Claudio Castagnoli in a three-way Elimination match to retain the title, - Roderick Strong defeated Jack Evans in a Steel Cage match and ROH World Tag Team Champions The Briscoes (Jay and Mark) defeated El Generico and Kevin Steen in a Steel Cage match to retain the title.