Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 30): Lex Luger vs. Yokozuna, HHH vs. Rock I-C ladder match, big Hawaii show

By Brian Hoops,

1960 - Minneapolis, Minnesota; Verne Gagne & Joe Scarpello beat AWA Tag Team Champions Tiny Mills & Stan Kowalski and Gene Kiniski beat Bob Rasmussen

1969 - Mad Dog & Butcher Vachon defeated Crusher & Dick the Bruiser for the AWA World Tag Team Title in Chicago, Illinois in a 2 of 3 falls match. Also, Blackjack Lanza went to a no contest with Wilbur Snyder, Edouard Carpentier beat Big K, Pat O'Connor beat Angelo Poffo, Baron Von Raschke beat Rene Goulet, Luis Martinez beat Kenny Jay. Attendance was 10,000.

1972 - Honolulu, Hawaii; Johnny Barend drew NWA Champion Dory Funk Jr, AWA Tag Team Champions Ray Stevens & Nick Bockwinkel beat Wahoo McDaniel & Fred Curry, Lonnie Mayne beat Jimmy Snuka, Sam Steamboat beat Al Costello and Ed Francis drew Fred Blassie

1981 - St. Paul, Minnesota; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Sheik Adnan El Kassey by dq. (After the AWA awarded the title to Bockwinkel when Gagne retired, the AWA feuded Bockwinkel with the hated Kassey to keep the "heat" off Bockwinkel for being given the belt). AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura, Hulk Hogan & Brad Rheingans beat Ray Stevens & Jerry Blackwell, Billy Robinson drew Tito Santana, Baron Von Raschke beat Eddie Boulder (Brutus Beefcake/Ed Leslie) and Buck Zumhofe beat Kenny Jay

1983 - In Louisville, Kentucky; NWA Mid America champion Buddy Landel defeated Terry Taylor, AWA Southern tag champs the Grapplers defeated Spike Huber and Steve Regal, The Fabulous Ones defeated CWA tag champs the Assassins via DQ and Austin Idol wrestled CWA International champ Ken Patera to a draw.

1984 - In Birmingham, Alabama; Ted DiBiase defeated Brad Armstrong and Austin Idol defeated Rip Rogers in a cage match.

1987 - Minneapolis, Minnesota; AWA Champion Curt Hennig beat Greg Gagne dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Boris Zhukov & Soldat Ustinov beat Wahoo McDaniel & DJ Peterson, In a Taped Fist Match; Scott LeDoux beat Larry Zbyszko by countout and Tommy Rich beat Kevin Kelly

1993 - At SummerSlam in Auburn Hills, Michigan; Lex Luger defeated WWF World Heavyweight Champion Yokozuna via countout, WWF Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated The Heavenly Bodies (Jimmy Del Ray & Tom Pritchard) and Jerry Lawler defeated Bret Hart via disqualification.

1993 - Dustin Rhodes defeated Rick Rude to reclaim the WCW United States Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1996 - Sid Vicious defeated Jerry Lawler for the USWA Unified Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1998 - At the SummerSlam PPV in Madison Square Garden, The New Age Outlaws defeated Mankind and Kane in a Falls Count Anywhere match to win the WWF World Tag Team Titles, Triple H defeated Rocky Maivia in a Ladder match for the WWF Intercontinental Title

2011 - During an edition of Impact Wrestling, James Storm defeated Rob Van Dam, Samoa Joe defeated AJ Styles and Jeff Hardy defeated Kurt Angle.