Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Brisco vs. Terry Funk, Farmer Burns vs. Original Strangler Lewis

By Brian Hoops,

1895 - Martin "Farmer" Burns defeated Evan "Strangler" Lewis for the American Heavyweight Title in Chicago, Illinois.

1960 - The Great Bolo and Joe McCarthy defeated Bobby and Don Fields for both the Gulf Coast and Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Titles in Mobile, Alabama.

1968 - Rusher Kimura and Thunder Sugiyama defeated Tank Morgan and Stan Stasiak to win the TWWA World Tag Team Title in Nagoya, Japan.

1970 - Argentina Apollo and José Lothario defeated Dale Lewis and The Missouri Mauler for the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in Orlando, Florida.

1970 - K.O. Kox and Killer defeated Bob Geigel and The Stomper to win the Central States NWA North American Tag Team Title in St. Joseph, Missouri.

1971 - Jack Brisco defeated Terry Funk to win the NWA Florida Television Title in Tampa, Florida.

1980 - Toru Tanaka defeated Kevin Von Erich for the NWA American Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas.

1986 - In the main event of the AWA WrestleRock show at the Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota; Greg Gagne and Jimmy Snuka defeated Bruiser Brody and Nord the Barbarian in a steel cage match and Verne Gagne defeated Adnan Al-Kaissie in a steel cage match.

1987 - At a Continental Wrestling Association event in Memphis, Tennessee. Chick Donovan defeated Soul Train Jones (Virgil/Vincent) for the CWA International Heavyweight Title. In the main event, Jerry Lawler defeated Austin Idol in a chain match to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title. The Mercenaries were also awarded Jimmy Snuka and J.T. Southerns' CWA International Tag Team Title.

1988 - Arn Anderson and Tully Blanchard defeated Lex Luger and Barry Windham for the NWA World Tag Team Title in Jacksonville, Florida.

1989 - Mitsuo Momota defeated Shinichi Nakano to win the AJPW World Junior Heavyweight Title in Osaka, Japan.

1991 - King Kong defeated TNT (Savio Vega) in Bayamón, Puerto Rico for the WWC Television Champion. At the same event, Super Medic III won the WWC Caribbean Heavyweight Title from Scott Hall and Ricky Santana won the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Title by defeating Mr. Pogo.

1996 - Akira Taue defeated Steve Williams to win the annual AJPW Champion's Carnival tournament.

1996 - Jeff Jarrett defeated Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee; Jim Steele defeated Ricky Santana for the WWC Television Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico. At the same show, Carlos Colón won the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title from El Bronco.

1998 - During an edition of WCW Monday Nitro; Hollywood Hulk Hogan defeated WCW World Heavyweight Champion Randy Savage to win the title and Goldberg defeated WCW United States Heavyweight Champion Raven to win the title.

2003 - Shane the Glamour Boy won the IWA World Hardcore Title from Ricky Banderas in Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico. Banderas won the title back later that same day. At the same event, Anarchy defeats Super Crazy for the IWA Intercontinental Heavyweight Title.

2004 - During an edition of Smackdown from British Columbia; Charlie Haas and Rico defeated WWE Tag Team Champions Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty to win the title; Keiji Muto defeated Kensuke Sasaki to win the annual AJPW Champion's Carnival tournament in Tokyo, Japan.