Skip to main content

On This Day In Pro Wrestling History: Jerry Lawler vs. Randy Savage, Crockett buys UWF, Buddy Rogers vs. Antonino Rocca

By Brian Hoops, Wrestling

1917 - Earl Caddock defeated Joe Stecher by forfeit in Omaha, Nebraska to win the World Heavyweight Title. Stecher lost the first fall and refused to wrestle the second fall.

1953 - Buddy Rogers defeated Antonino Rocca in Cleveland, Ohio to win the Ohio version of the Boston AWA World Heavyweight Title

1960 - Ray and Roy Shire defeated Dick Afflis and Gene Kiniski to win the Chicago/Indianapolis NWA World Tag Team Title

1963 - Gino and Tony Calza defeated The Medics (Tony Gonzales and Donald Lortie) to win the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1969 - Black Gordman defeated Alfonso Dantés for the vacant NWA Beat the Champ TV Title in Los Angeles, California.

1976 - Fishman defeated Blue Demon to win the NWA World Welterweight Title in Mexico, City, Mexico, y

1978 - Ric Flair defeated Mr. Wrestling to win the NWA United States Heavyweight Title in Charlotte, North Carolina; Perro Aguayo defeated Ringo Mendoza for the NWA World Middleweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1981 - Bob Brown and Terry Taylor defeated The Kelly Twins (Mike and Pat) for the NWA Central States Tag Team Title in Kansas City, Kansas; Buddy Rose defeated Jay Youngblood to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title

1984 - Jerry Lawler defeated Randy Savage to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Lexington, Kentucky

1987 - Jim Crockett Promotions purchased Bill Watts' Universal Wrestling Federation.

1988 - Carlos Colón won the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico, defeating Hercules Ayala.

1990 - Kenta Kobashi and Tiger Mask (Mitsuharu Misawa) defeated The Can-Am Express (Doug Furnas and Dan Kroffat) for the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Title in Okayama, Japan

1995 - T. Rantula defeated Cactus Jack for the Steel City Wrestling Heavyweight Title in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

2003 - Doug Basham won the OVW Heavyweight Title by defeating Nick Dinsmore in Louisville, Kentucky

2004: Minoru Fujita and Ikuto Hidaka defeated Josh Daniels and Matt Striker to win the Premier Wrestling Federation Universal Tag Team Title in Quarryville, Pennsylvania; Zach Gowen and Silas Young defeated Jason Dukes and Skull Krusher for the Mid-America Wrestling Tag Team Title in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Justin Kage defeated Austin Aries to win the NWA Midwest X Division Title in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; In a 30-minute Iron Man match, B.J. Whitmer (with Jim Fannin) defeated IWA Mid-South Heavyweight Champion Jerry Lynn, 2-1, to win the title in Oolitic, IN.

2005 - Petey Williams defeated Puma to win the Super 8 Tournament in Newark, Delaware.

2011 - Combat Zone Wrestling held their Best of the Best 2011 tournament at the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, PA. which was won by Adam Cole.