Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 10): Ric Flair vs. Lex Luger blood stoppage match, Jeff Hardy vs. Mike Awesome

By Brian Hoops,

1941 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Dorv Roche beat Jack Kennedy in two straight falls to become #1 contender to the MWA World Title. Also, Benny Rosen beat Rudy Strongberg, Steve Brody defeated Earl Wampler and Jack Hader beat Dobie Osborne. Promoter was George Simpson

1947 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; Orville Brown beat Wally Dusek to retain the MWA Title, Tug Carlson drew Sockeye Jack McDonald, Sailor Fred Blassie beat Rudy Strongberg and Marshall Esteppe drew Jack Hader.

1962 - In Minneapolis, MN before 3,280 fans; AWA Champion Mr. M beat Joe Scarpello by countout, Verne Gagne beat Bob Geigel, Ilio Dipaolo beat Blackjack Daniels and Doug Gilbert beat Thor Hagan.

1964 - In Denver, Colorado; Mad Dog Vachon & Fritz von Erich beat Verne Gagne & Art Thomas, Mitsu Arakawa beat Wilbur Snyder by dq and Jack Lanza beat Larry Hennig

1965 - In Minneapolis before 5,710 fans; AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon beat The Crusher dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Rene Goulet & Eddie Sharkey, Tex McKenzie beat Pampero Firpo and Chris Markoff beat Bill Green

1967 - Lou Albano & Tony Altimore defeated Arnold Skaaland & Chuck Richards (subbing for Spiros Arion) for the United States Tag Team Title in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

1968 - In Duluth, Minnesota; Dr. X beat Wilbur Snyder, Bill Watts beat Harley Race, The Crusher beat Mad Dog Vachon and Man Mountain Mike beat Blackjack Daniels. Attendance was 3,300.

1970 - In Denver; AWA Tag Team Champions Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon beat The Crusher & Verne Gagne in 2 out of 3 falls, Paul Diamond beat Double X in 2 out of 3 falls and Red Bastien beat Blackjack Lanza by dq.

1971 - AWA ran a double shot with AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez beat Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson to retain the titles in St. Paul, Minnesota. Also on the card, Billy Robinson beat Big K, Vivian Vachon beat Mars Monroe and Don Muraco beat Aldo Bogni; in Milwaukee, Wisconsin before a sellout of 6,112 fans; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Edouard Carpentier, Nick Bockwinkel beat Dick The Bruiser by countout, Wilbur Snyder and Baron Von Raschke went to a double countout, Bull Bullinski beat Joe Turco and Angelo Poffo drew Bill Howard

1974 - At John O'Donnell Stadium in Davenport, Iowa; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson & Geoff Portz, Ivan Putski beat Baron Von Raschke, Chris Taylor beat Larry Heiniemi and Larry Hennig beat Bull Bullinski

1975 - Greg Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel in Duluth, Minnesota.

1978 - In Wichita, Kansas; Gene Stevens (Frank Dalton) vs. Pat O'Conner, Tank Patton vs. Gary Young, The Blue Yankee (former Inferno Curtis Smith) & Bob Sweetan vs. Ron Starr & Tom Andrews and in a Texas Death Match; Bulldog Bob Brown vs. Col. Buck Robley

1982 - In Sheboygan, Wisconsin; Hulk Hogan beat Ken Patera, Greg Gagne no contest Sheik Adnan, Rick Martel beat Bobby Heenan and Buck Zumhofe beat Sgt. Goulet

1985 - In Las Vegas, Nevada at the Showboat Sports Pavilion; Sgt. Slaughter won battle royal, Sgt. Slaughter beat Larry Zbyszko dq, Fabulous Freebirds beat Curt Hennig & Greg Gagne, Nick Bockwinkel beat Baron Von Raschke, Billy Robinson beat Bob Backlund and Brad Rheingans drew Ray Stevens. Attendance was 1,500.

1988 - In Baltimore, Maryland at the Great American Bash PPV, The Midnight Express (Stan Lane & Bobby Eaton) defeated The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) to win the NWA United States Tag Team Title. Also on the card, NWA United States Champion Barry Windham defeated Dusty Rhodes and NWA World Heavyweight Champion Ric Flair defeated Lex Luger when the match was stopped by the Maryland State Athletic Commission due to Luger bleeding.

1992 - In Whitesville, Virginia; SMW Heavyweight Champion Brian Lee pinned the Dirty White Boy and SMW Tag Team Champions The Heavenly Bodies, Stan Lane & Tom Prichard defeated The Fantastics, Bobby & Jackie Fulton via disqualification.

1998 - In Inglewood, California; WCW World Champion Bill Goldberg pinned Curt Hennig and Sting defeated Hulk Hogan in a steel cage match via submission.

2001 - Jeff Hardy defeated Mike Awesome for the WWF Hardcore Title in Birmingham, Alabama.

2011 - At Destination X PPV; Brian Kendrick defeated Abyss to win the X Division Championship.

2014 - Austin Aries defeated Sanada to win the TNA X Division Title.