Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 11): Ric Flair vs. Jimmy Garvin steel cage match involving Precious, Gene Kiniski wins AWA world title

By Brian Hoops,

1933 - In Marshalltown, Iowa; Joe Stecher beat Bruce Noland 

1935 - At St. Louis Arena in St. Louis, Missouri: Danno O'Mahoney beat Ray Steele, Joe Dusek and George Zaharias went to a draw,  Orville Brown defeated Charley Strack, Pat McGill beat George Tragos and Carl Hansen defeated Pat Murphy. Promoter was Tom Packs and attendance was 7,443. 

1940 - In Kansas City; Orville Brown beat Juan Humberto 2 falls to 0, Steve Brody defeated Al Lovelock in 2 out of 3 falls and Jack Hader beat Cal Rees.

1958 - Angelo Savoldi defeated Dory Funk Sr. in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to win the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title

1961 - Gene Kiniski defeated Verne Gagne in Minneapolis, Minnesota to win the AWA World Heavyweight Title. Also on the card, AWA Tag Team Champions Leo Nomeilini & Wilbur Snyder beat Stan Kowalski & Bob Geigel in 2 of 3 falls, Hard Boiled Haggerty beat Roy McClarty and Tony Baillargeon beat Aldo Bogni. Attendance was 6,057.

1963 - In Kansas City; Pat O’Connor beat Rock Hunter to retain the Central States Title, for the US Title, Sonny Myers beat Bob Geigel, Harley Race (sub for Tiny Mills) beat Pedro Godoy by dq and Bob Orton beat Roy Collins.

1967 - In Duluth, MN; The Crusher beat Harley Race, Rene Goulet beat Chris Markoff (sub Johnny Valentine), Johnny Powers beat Reggie Parks and Larry Hennig beat Doug Gilbert. Attendance was 3,850.

1968 - In Kansas City, Kansas; The Spoiler fought The Viking to a draw, Kay Noble defeated Jean Antone, Bob Ellis defeated Roger Kirby and Sonny Myers & Ronnie Etchison defeated Bob Brown & Bob Geigel via DQ in three falls. 

1972 - In Davenport, Iowa John O'Donnell Stadium; with Special Referee Jersey Joe Walcott, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson & Wahoo McDaniel. Also, Ivan Koloff beat Ramon Torres, Larry Hennig drew Don Muraco and Bull Bullinski beat Angelo Poffo

1974 - In Kansas City; The Viking & Bobby Bold Eagle defeated Bob Orton & Bobby Garcia, Omar Atlas defeated Roger Kirby, Jim Brunzell defeated Don Fargo via DQ, The Interns defeated Bob Geigel & Pat O’Connor and Harley Race defeated Bob Brown

1975 - In Tonganoxie, Kansas; Central States Heavyweight Champion Ed Wiskoski defeated Ted Oates.

1985 - In Salt Lake City, Utah; Sgt. Slaughter & Greg Gagne drew Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens, Fabulous Freebirds Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts beat Larry Hennig & Curt Hennig, Bob Backlund beat Larry Zbyszko, Brad Rheingans beat Buddy Roberts and Boris Zhukov beat Baron Von Raschke. Attendance was 1,400. 

1987 - At the Greensboro Coliseum in North Carolina, Lex Luger defeated Nikita Koloff for the United States Title.  In the main event of that show, NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated Jimmy Garvin in a steel cage match when Garvin passed out while trapped in the figure four leglock. As a result, Flair won a date with Garvin's valet, Precious. When the date occurred, Ronnie Garvin went instead (dressed as a woman), and beat up Flair; At a show in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Steve Williams defeated Big Bubba Rogers to win the UWF Heavyweight Title.

1989 - Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu defeated Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu in Hokkaido, Japan to win the All Japan Pro Wrestling World Tag Team Title.

2010 - At Victory Road PPV in Orlando, Florida, The Motor City Machine Guns defeated Beer Money to win the TNA World Tag Team Title. Also, Angelina Love won the Knockouts Title over Madison Rayne.