Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 18): Kane cashes in MITB to win WWE World title, Chris Sabin wins TNA title, Lance Storm wins WCW U.S. title

By Brian Hoops,

1934 - In St. Louis, Missouri for promoter Tom Packs; Orville Brown beat Dr. Karl Sarpolis, Abe Coleman beat Whitey Hewitt, Dick Raines beat Tommy Marvin and George Tragos defeated Harold Metheny

1964 - In Omaha, Nebraska; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Mad Dog Vachon dq, Reggie Parks drew Otto Von Krupp and Billy Red Cloud beat Bulldog Danny Plechas

1968 - In Winnipeg; The Crusher won a 12 man battle royal, NWA Champion Gene Kiniski beat Bill Watts by dq, Dr. X beat Man Mountain Mike and Crusher beat Harley Race

1972 - In Tampa, Florida at the Fort Homer Hesterly Armory; In a Texas Death Match; Jack Brisco beat Paul Jones, Zodiac & Buddy Colt beat Mr Wrestling Tim Woods & Johnny Walker, Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Louie Tillet & Hiro Matsuda and Mike Graham beat Mike Webster

1974 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Don Fargo vs. Mike George, World Tag Team Champions Pat O’Connor & Omar Atlas vs. The Interns (w/ Dr. Ken Ramey) and Bob Brown vs. Harley Race. 

1976 - In Green Bay, Wisconsin; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Mad Dog Vachon, Baron Von Raschke beat Larry Hennig, Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum in 2 out of 3 falls and Buddy Wolff drew Billy Red Cloud

1980 - Verne Gagne defeated Nick Bockwinkel for the AWA World Heavyweight Title at Cominskey Park in Chicago, Illinois. Also on the card, Jerry Blackwell (sub Ernie Ladd) beat Dick The Bruiser, Greg Gagne beat Bobby Heenan by count out, The Crusher & Mad Dog Vachon beat Jerry Valiant & Adrian Adonis, Bobo Brazil beat Super Destroyer Mark II, Steve Regal beat Roger Kirby, Paul Christy drew Tito Santana, Pat O'Connor no contest Wilbur Snyder and Jerry Blackwell won a 15 Man, $25,000 Battle Royal. Attendance was 12,000

1982 - In St. Paul, Minnesota; Hulk Hogan & Otto Wanz & Baron Von Raschke beat Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum & Jesse Ventura, AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Tito Santana & Rick Martel by countout, Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan beat Spike Huber & Ray Stevens and Buck Zumhofe & Brad Rheingans beat Bobby Heenan & Rene Goulet

1988 - At the Mid South Coliseum in Memphis; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Kerry Von Erich by dq, Jimmy Valiant & Jeff Jarrett no contest Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden, Billy Travis beat Great Sensei by dq, CWA Champion Phil Hickerson beat Max Pain and Brickhouse Brown beat Scott Steiner

1989 - Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard defeated Demolition for the WWF World Tag Team Title in Worcester, Massachusetts

1993 - At the Beach Blast 1993 PPV, Ric Flair defeats Barry Windham for the NWA World Heavyweight Wrestling Title in Biloxi, Mississippi; Vampire Warrior (Gangrel) defeated Jeff Jarrett for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1999 - Balls Mahoney & Spike Dudley defeated The Dudley Boyz for the ECW World Tag Team Championship in Dayton, Ohio

2000 - Lance Storm defeated Mike Awesome in a tournament final for the WCW United States Heavyweight Title.

2010 - Kane defeated Rey Mysterio to win the WWE World Title after Kane cashed in the Money in the Bank briefcase he won
earlier in the night at the Money in the Bank PPV in Kansas City, Missouri.

2013 - At the Destination X PPV, Chris Sabin defeated Bully Ray to win the TNA World Title.