Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 2): Nick Bockwinkel faces Ricky Morton, Umaga wins WWE I-C title

By Brian Hoops,

1933 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Joe Stecher beat Abe Kashey and Alan Eustace drew Homer (Bearcat) Wright.

1939 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Ali Baba beat Earl Wampler by dq and Abe Kashey drew with Rudy Strongberg

1948 - At Kiel Auditorium in St. Louis, Missouri; Ernie Dusek beat Felix Miquet, Al Lovelock defeatd Al Billings and Warren Bockwinkel and Don McIntyre went to a 20 minute draw. (Promoter was Martin Thesz, father of Lou Thesz.)

1964 - In Kansas City; KS; Harley Race defeated Steve Bolus, Sonny Myers defeated Bulldog Plechas via DQ and Moose Evans won a 6-man Battle Royal (other participants: Sonny Myers, Steve Bolus, Rocky Hamilton, Bulldog Plechas, Harley Race).

1970 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; Roger Kirby defeated Don Drummer, Scandor Akbar fought The Viking to a draw, Pat O’Connor defeated Tarzan Tyler, Danny Little Bear defeated Oki Shikina and Baron Von Raschke & Harley Race defeated Bob Geigel & Bob Brown in three falls

1975 - In Minneapolis, MN; Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant were the final two survivors in a 15 man battle royal and split $25,000. Also, Ivan Putski drew Baron Von Raschke, Dusty Rhodes beat Jimmy Valiant by dq and Nick Bockwinkel beat Chris Taylor by countout.

1977 - In Duluth, Minnesota; Super Destroyer beat Pedro Morales, Angelo Mosca ddq Larry Hennig, Billy Robinson beat Roger Kirby, Bob Backlund beat Blackjack Lanza and Steve Olsonoski beat Lord Alfred Hayes

1982 - In Houston, Texas; Mongolian Stomper won a 2 ring battle royal, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Ricky Morton, Terry Funk beat Tully Blanchard, Bruiser Brody no contest Killer Brooks, Ken Lucas & Tito Santana & El Gran Apollo beat Bob Sweetan & Jim Duggan & Mike Boyette and Buddy Landell defeated Alexis Smirnoff

1983 - In Greensboro, NC; NWA Tag Team Champions Jack & Jerry Brisco defeated Ricky Steamboat & Jay Youngblood and NWA World Champion Harley Race defeated Ric Flair via disqualification.

1988 - In Dothan, Alabama; Austin Idol beat AWA Champion Jerry Lawler by dq, and AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Ken Wayne.

1992 - In Sneedville, Tennessee; Tim Horner pinned Buddy Landel, SMW Heavyweight Champion Brian Lee pinned the Dirty White Boy, The Fantastics, Bobby & Jackie Fulton defeated SMW Tag Team Champions The Heavenly Bodies (Stan Lane & Tom Pritchard) via disqualification and Tim Horner and Dixie Dynamite co-won a battle royal

1999 - In Poughkeepsie, NY; Jerry Lynn defeated Lance Storm, Sabu defeated Justin Credible, ECW World Champion Taz defeated Spike Dudley and ECW TV Champion Rob Van Dam defeated Balls Mahoney.

2007 - In Dallas, Texas; Umaga defeated Santino Marella to win the WWE Intercontinental Title.