Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 23): WWF War To Settle The Score, Ric Flair vs. Terry Funk Great American Bash '89 match

By Brian Hoops,

1933 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Bronko Nagurski beat George Vassell.

1970 - Sputnik Monroe and Tommy Gilbert defeated Ron and Don Wright for the Tennessee Tag Team Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee; In Kansas City; Rufus R. Jones & Luis Martinez defeated Scandor Akbar & Oki Shikina, Roger Kirby fought Danny Little Bear to a no contest and in a Texas Death Match; Bob Geigel defeated Harley Race

1971 - In Winnipeg; Nick Bockwinkel beat Hercules Cortez dq. (Driving back to Minneapolis after this match, Cortez was killed in a car accident. At the time, Cortez was half of the AWA tag team champions). Also, Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson beat Red Bastien & Bull Bullinski, Vivian Vachon beat Kay Noble, Billy Robinson beat Big K and Don Muraco beat Moose Morowski.

1974 - The Destroyer defeated Dick The Bruiser to win the WWA World Title in Los Angeles, Ca.

1976 - Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum beat Dick the Bruiser & The Crusher to win the AWA tag team title in Chicago, Illinois at the International Amphitheatre. Also on the card, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Wilbur Snyder, Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke via dq, Ox Baker beat Jos LeDuc and Pepper Gomez beat Buddy Wolff

1977 - Mr. Wrestling II defeated Dick Slater to win the Georgia Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1979 - In Fort Worth, Texas; NWA World Champion Harley Race beat Kevin Von Erich, then wrestled David Von Erich to a draw.

1983 - In Chicago, Illinois at the UIC Pavilion; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Wahoo McDaniel, Mad Dog Vachon & Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Jerry Blackwell & Ken Patera & Sheik Adnan, Dick the Bruiser beat Blackjack Lanza, Mr. Saito beat Buck Zumhofe, David Shults beat Baron Von Raschke (sub Rick Martel) and Bill White drew Brad Rheingans.

1984 - At the MTV special, "War to Settle the Score", Wendi Richter defeated The Fabulous Moolah to win the WWF Women's Title in Madison Square Garden. Also, WWF World Champion Hulk Hogan defeated Greg Valentine; In Fort Worth, Texas; NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated Gino Hernandez to retain the title.

1989 - Great American Bash PPV was held in Baltimore, Maryland headlined by Ric Flair defeating Terry Funk to retain the NWA World Title. Also, NWA Television Champion Sting defeated The Great Muta and NWA United States Champion Lex Luger defeated Ricky Steamboat via DQ.

2000 - Perry Saturn defeated Eddie Guerrero to win the WWF European Title in Dallas, Texas and The Rock defeated Chris Benoit to retain the WWE World Title.