Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 24): Kurt Angle wins Memphis title, Sherri Martel wins WWF title from Moolah, Lance Storm

By Brian Hoops,

1941 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Dorv Roche beat Orville Brown in 2 of 3 falls. Also, Steve Brody and Jack Hader wrestled to a 60 minute draw with falls tied 1-1.

1947 - In Kansas City, Kansas; for the MWA Title, Orville Brown beat Tug Carlson 2 falls 1 to retain the title. Also, Cardiff Giant beat Ronnie Etchison and Sailor Fred Blassie drew Jack Hader in 30 minutes.

1956 - Jesse James defeated Frank Jares for the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1962 - In Minneapolis, MN; AWA Champion Mr M went to a 60 minute draw with Doug Gilbert, Ilio DiPaolo beat Tiny Mills and Moose Evans beat Bill Wright

1964 - In Denver, Colorado; Wilbur Snyder beat The Sheik and Jack Lanza beat Mad Dog Vachon.

1965 - In Minneapolis, MN; The Crusher & Verne Gagne beat Larry Hennig & Harley Race to win AWA tag team title. Also on the card, Tex McKenzie beat Chris Markoff, Junior Heavyweight Champion Danny Hodge beat Gene Anderson, Eddie Sharkey beat Paul Caruso and Kenny Jay beat Jose Quintero. Attendance was 8,156

1969 - In Winnipeg; AWA Tag Team Champions Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon in 2 out of 3 falls, Flying Redheads Red Bastien & Billy Red Lyons beat Larry Hennig & Dr. X in 2 out of 3 falls and Bill Watts beat Rene Goulet.

1970 - Nick Bockwinkel defeated Paul DeMarco to win the Georgia Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1971 - In Minneapolis, MN; in a non title, Nick Bockwinkel beat AWA Champion Verne Gagne (sub Hercules Cortez. Cortez died the previous night in a car accident). Billy Robinson beat Edouard Carpentier, Bull Bullinski & Jean Ferre (Andre The Giant) beat Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson in 2 out of 3 falls, Ray Stevens beat Jose Betancourt (sub Red Bastien) and Vivian Vachon beat Kay Noble. Attendance was 6,123.

1972 - In Orlando, Florida; Buddy Colt & Phil Robley beat Don Curtis & Eddie Graham, Southern Champion Zodiac beat Jerry Brisco, Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Johnny Walker & Louie Tillet and Mike Graham beat Taurus

1977 - Rocky Johnson defeated WWWF World Champion Superstar Billy Graham in a non-title match in Orlando, Florida.

1981 - In Houston, Texas; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel drew Tony Atlas

1982 - Carlos Colon defeated Abdullah The Butcher for the WWC World Heavyweight Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

1983 - Magnum T.A. & Hacksaw Duggan defeated Ted DiBiase & Mr. Olympis for the Mid South Tag Team Title in Tulsa, Oklahoma; Sgt. Slaughter defeated Canadian Heavyweight Champion Angelo Mosca to win the title in Toronto, Ontario

1987 - Sherri Martel defeated WWF Women's Champion the Fabulous Moolah in Houston, Texas to win the title; In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; AWA Champion Curt Hennig beat Nick Bockwinkel, Greg Gagne beat Larry Zbyszko, AWA Tag team Champions Soldat Ustinov & Boris Zhukov beat DJ Peterson & Wahoo McDaniel by dq and Kevin Kelly beat Mitch Snow

1996 - Rick & Scott Steiner defeated WCW World Tag Team Champions Harlem Heat to win the titles in Cincinnati, Ohio.

1999 - Kurt Angle defeated J.R. Smooth in Memphis, Tennessee, for the Memphis Power Pro
Wrestling Heavyweight Title

2000 - Lance Storm defeated Big Vito in Cleveland, Ohio for the WCW Hardcore Championship

2005 - Road Warrior Animal and Heidenreich defeated Joey Mercury and Johnny Nitro to win the WWE Tag Team Championships.

2009 - At the ROH Death Before Dishonor show in Chicago, Illinois; Kevin Steen and Lance Storm defeated Davey Richards and Chris Hero and ROH Champion Austin Aries defeated Tyler
Black, Nigel McGuiness and Jerry Lynn to retain the title.