Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 27): Low Ki becomes first ROH champion, Kurt Angle wins WWE title

By Brian Hoops,

1939 - In Kansas City, Kansas at Memorial Hall; Steve Brody beat Mike Kilonis to capture the World Junior Heavyweight Title in 2 out of 3 falls. Also, Wladek Zbyszko defeated Paul Amnott.

1945 - Buddy Rogers defeated Dave Levin to win the Texas Heavyweight Title in Houston.

1956 - Duke Keomuka & Tony Martin defeated Iron Mike DiBiase & Danny Plechas to win the Texas Tag Team Title in Houston, Texas

1962 - The Destroyer defeated Freddie Blassie for the WWA World tite in a 2-of-3 falls match at the San Diego (CA) Coliseum.

1963 - In Omaha, Nebraska; Fritz Von Erich beat Verne Gagne to win AWA World Title, Fuji Tanaka beat Guy Mitchell and Mike DiBiase beat Dory Funk.

1966 - NWA World Champion Gene Kiniski defeated Stan Stasiak at Lane County Fairgrounds, Eugene Oregon.

1968 - In Minneapolis; The Crusher won an 11 man battle royal, Dr X beat Dick the Bruiser by dq and The Crusher beat Harley Race. In Chicago; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Blackjack Lanza, AWA Tag Team Champions Mitsu Arakawa & Dr Moto no contest Bill Watts & Wilbur Snyder and Mad Dog Vachon beat Dutch Savage

1969 - In Chicago; AWA Tag Team Champions Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat Chain Gang Frank Dillinger & Jack Dillinger in 2 out of 3 falls, AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Bill Watts on a 3rd fall count out and Edouard Carpentier drew Blackjack Lanza. In Minneapolis; Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon beat Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson and Dr X beat Wilbur Snyder

1972 - In Jacksonville, Florida; Jack Brisco & Don Curtis wrestled Buddy Colt & Paul Jones, Nick Bockwinkel wrestled Johnny Walker Ray Stevens wrestled Hiro Matsuda; In Kansas City; Bob Geigel & Rufus R. Jones defeated Roger Kirby & Harley Race (sub. Black Angus) and Harley Race defeated The Stomper.

1973 - In Denver; Billy Graham & Ivan Koloff beat Mad Dog Vachon & The Crusher via dq, Nick Bockwinkel beat Dusty Rhodes in 2 out of 3 falls, Larry Heiniemi beat Reggie Parks and Greg Gagne drew Vic Rossitani. Attendance was 6,758

1980 - In Denver, Colorado; AWA Tag Team Champions Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura beat Mad Dog Vachon & Tito Santana. (Note: Adrian Adonis and Jesse Ventura are awarded the AWA Tag Team Title when Verne Gagne failed to show for a scheduled defense of the title). Also on the card, Jerry Blackwell no contest The Crusher and Tito Santana ddq Dennis Stamp.

1985 - In Milwaukee; Sgt. Slaughter beat Larry Zbyszko, The Crusher drew Michael Hayes, Fabulous Freebirds Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts beat Larry Hennig & Steve O and Boris Zhukov beat Rick Gantner.

1985 - In Atlantic City, NJ; AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Michael Hayes dq

1987 - In Memphis; (Winner to wrestle AWA Champion Curt Hennig on 8/11) Jerry Lawler beat Nick Bockwinkel, George Barnes & Blooey beat Rocky Johnson & Bill Dundee, Moondogs beat Big Bubba & Goliath and Billy Travis & Jeff Jarrett beat Nasty Boys via dq.

1988 - Stan Hansen defeated Genichiro Tenryu in Nagano, Japan to win the PWF World Heavyweight and NWA United National Heavyweight Titles, which would later become part of the All Japan Triple Crown.

1990 - Stan Hansen defeated Mitsuharu Misawa in Matsudo, Japan to win the vacant All Japan Triple Crown

1991 - Steve Simpson & Chris Walker defeated Scott Anthony (Raven) & Rip Rogers in the tournament final to win the Global Wrestling Federation Tag Team Champions in Dallas, Texas.

1996 - Dr. Wagner Jr. defeated Aquarius (Yoshihiro Tajiri) to win the CMLL World Light-Heavyweight Title in Sapporo, Japan.

2002 - Low Ki defeated Spanky, Christopher Daniels & Doug Williams in a 60-minute Iron Man match to become the first Ring Of Honor Champion in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

2003 - Kurt Angle defeated Brock Lesnar and The Big Show in a three way no-DQ match to capture the WWE World Title at the WWE Vengeance PPV in Denver, Colorado, and Eddie Guerrero defeated Chris Benoit in the finals of the US Title Tournament.

2004 - In Cincinnati, Ohio; Spike Dudley pinned WWE Cruiserweight Champion Rey Mysterio Jr. to win the title