Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (July 31): Stan Hansen wins NWA International title, Giant Baba, Hulk Hogan in AWA

By Brian Hoops,

1947 - In Kansas City; Tug Carlson beat Wally Dusek, Warren Bockwinkel beat Jack Hader, Sailor Fred Blassie drew Ronnie Etchison.

1959 - Dick Gunkel defeated Fred Blassie for the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1962 - In Minneapolis, MN; AWA Champion Mr. M beat Moose Evans via dq and Ilio Dipaolo & Joe Scarpello beat Bob Geigel & Blackjack Daniels

1965 - In Omaha; AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon beat Danny Hodge, Nebraska Champion Mighty Igor Vodik beat Haru Sasaki via dq, Reggie Parks beat Bulldog Danny Plechas and Ivan Kalmikoff beat Bob Brown; In Minneapolis, MN; AWA Tag Team Champions The Crusher & Verne Gagne beat Larry Hennig & Harley Race via dq and Tex McKenzie beat Roger Kirby

1969 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; The Viking defeated Tarzan Tyler via DQ, Lou Thesz defeated Pat O’Connor and Danny Little Bear & Big Luke defeated Dick Murdoch & K.O. Cox

1970 - In Denver; In a Non Title match; Dick the Bruiser & The Crusher beat AWA Tag Team Champions Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon in 2 out of 3 falls, Red Bastien beat Larry Hennig in 2 out of 3 falls and Pepper Gomez beat Tarzan Tyler; In Milwaukee; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Blackjack Lanza, Mighty Igor Vodik & Paul Diamond beat Dr X & Double X, Ernie Ladd beat Bob Windham and Lars Anderson drew Bad Boy Bullinski. Attendance was 6,330

1971 - In Milwaukee; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel dq, Andre The Giant & Bull Bullinski beat Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson 2 falls to 0, Billy Robinson beat Big K and Ray Stevens beat Red Bastien. Attendance was 10,245.

1972 - In Orlando, Florida; Don Curtis & Mike Graham & Eddie Graham beat Jim Dillon & Phil Robley & Buddy Colt, Florida Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Dale Lewis & Mr. Wrestling Tim Woods, Johnny Walker beat Mike Webster and Mike George beat George McCreary

1973 - Tim Woods defeated Paul Jones for the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in Tampa

1976 - Hurricane Castillo defeated Jose Lotario in Bayamon, Puerto Rico for the Caribbean Heavyweight Title.

1979 - Pampero Firpo defeated Abdullah The Butcher in Bayamon, Puerto Rico to win the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title.

1982 - In Milwaukee; In a Cage Match, AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan, In a Handicap Match, Hulk Hogan beat Ken Patera & Bobby Heenan, Bobby Duncum beat Otto Wanz dq, Rick Martel beat Jacques Goulet and Brad Rheingans drew Steve O. Attendance was 5,486

1984 - Giant Baba defeated Stan Hansen to win the PWF World Heavyweight Title in Tokyo, Japan. Also on the card, AWA Champion Rick Martel double count out with Jumbo Tsuruta, Genichiro Tenryu beat Alexis Smirnoff, Great Kabuki drew Dick Slater and Mighty Inoue beat Johnny Mantell. Attendance was 12,500.

1986 - At an All Japan Pro Wrestling show at Budokan Hall, Stan Hansen defeated Jumbo Tsuruta for the NWA International Heavyweight Title. The card also saw Hiro Saito defeat Brad Armstrong in a tournament final to determine the first PWF World Junior Heavyweight Champion

1988 - Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu defeated Stan Hansen & Terry Gordy in Hokodate, Japan to win the All Japan Tag Team Title

1992 - The Ebony Experience (Booker T & Stevie Ray, later known as Harlem Heat) defeated Gary Young & Steve Dane to win the Global Wrestling Federation Tag Team Title in Dallas Texas. On the same show, Alex Porteau defeated Terry Simms for the GWF Light Heavyweight Title.

2011 - Adam Pearce won the NWA World Heavyweight Championship by defeating Chance Prophet, Jimmy Rave and Shaun Tempers in a four-way match to win the vacant title