Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 11): 1879 Boston title change, Styles wins NWA/TNA gold

By Brian Hoops,

1879 - H.M. Dufur defeated James Owens in Boston, Massachusetts to win the American Collar-and-Elbow Title.

1933 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Bronko Nagurski beat Frank Topaz

1943 - In St. Joseph, Missouri; Ronnie Etchison beat Tom Zaharias, In a Boxing match, Lee Wyckoff beat Cowboy Luttrall via ko-3rd round, George Pavich beat Carlos Rodriquez and Gene Reardon drew Bill Dusen

1955 - Doug Donovan & Ivan Kameroff defeated Luther Lindsay & George Dussette to win the Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1964 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Mongolian Stomper beat Moose Evans 2 to 1 falls, The Lawman beat Lee Henning ... Larry (Rocky) Hamilton beat Baron Von Strauss and Steve Bolus and Tom Poulos beat Tokyo Tom and Bulldog Plechas

1965 - Wilbur Snyder & Dick the Bruiser defeated The Assassins (Guy Mitchell & Joe Tomasso) to win the World Wrestling Association Tag Team Title

1970 - In Winnipeg; Edouard Carpentier & Pepper Gomez beat AWA Tag Team Champions Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon via dq and Lars Anderson beat Bob Windham

1970 - In Kansas City; Frank Hester defeated Scandor Akbar via DQ, Pat O’Connor defeated Tom Brandon, The Viking fought Roger Kirby to a draw, Danny Little Bear & The Viking & Pat O’Connor defeated Roger Kirby & Scandor Akbar & Don Drummer and Baron Von Raschke & Harley Race defeated Rufus R. Jones & Bob Ellis in three falls.

1971 - In Winnipeg; AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon, In a Death match
The Crusher beat Strong Kobayashi, Blackjack Lanza beat Dr. Big Bill Miller and Nick Bockwinkel beat Paul Diamond

1971 - The Assassins, (Tom Renesto & Jody Hamilton) won the NWA Georgia Tag Team Title, defeating Ray Gunkel & El Mongol in Atlanta, Georgia

1973 - El Marquez defeated Karloff Lagarde for the Mexico National Welterweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico; Masked Lee & Sandy Parker defeated Jumbo Miyamoto & Mariko Akagi for the WWWA World Tag Team Title in Sasebo, Japan

1975 - Gene & Ole Anderson defeated Wahoo McDaniel & Paul Jones to win the Mid-Atlantic version of the NWA World Tag Team Title in Raleigh, North Carolina

1976 - Great Kusatsu & Mighty Inoue defeated Rip Tyler & Eddie Sullivan to win the IWA Japan World Tag Team Title in Furukawa, Japan; In Denver, Colorado; Larry Hennig & Jos Leduc no contest Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke, Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum, Russ Francis pinned Kim Duk and Buddy Wolff beat Billy Red Cloud

1980 - Alan Dennison defeated Jim Breaks for the British Welterweight Title in London, England; In Ottawa, Ontario; Verne Gagne & Greg Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel & Bobby Heenan, Dino Bravo went to a double countout with Jerry Blackwell, Jesse Ventura beat Steve Olsonoski, Adrian Adonis beat Mad Dog Vachon and Jerry Blackwell beat Super Destroyer Mark III. Attendance was 4,000

1981 - In Winnipeg; AWA Tag Team Champions Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura beat the Crusher & Baron Von Raschke. In a Non Title Match, Jim Brunzell beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel, Mike Graham beat Buck Zumhofe and Jerry Blackwell beat Mad Dog Vachon. Attendance was 3,000; Takashi Ishikawa & Akio Sato defeated Kevin & David Von Erich to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Title in Tokyo, Japan.

1983 - King Tonga & Gran Apolo defeated Buddy Landel & Terry Gibbs for the WWC North American Tag Team Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico; At the Cow Palace in San Francisco, Ken Patera & Jerry Blackwell beat Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Wahoo McDaniel, Mike Graham beat Buck Zumhofe Rick Martel beat Blackjack Lanza dq and Greg Gagne beat John Tolos

1984 - Rick Rude defeated Jerry Lawler to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1989 - The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs and Jerry Sags) defeated The Southern Force (Black Bart and Tony Anthony) in Orlando, Florida, to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title.

1993 - Tracy Smothers defeated Tony Anthony to win the held up SMW
Heavyweight Title in Knoxville, Tennessee; Saemi Numata defeated Kumiko Maekawa for the AJW Junior Title.

2003 - At a TNA weekly PPV taping in Nashville,Tennessee; AJ Styles won the TNA/NWA World Title by defeating Raven and Jeff Jarrett.

2005 - In Brandon, Florida; Chris Sabin defeated Sonjay Dutt to win the Jeff Peterson Memorial Cup.