Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 13): 'Strangler' beats Londos, Crusher vs. Mad Dog cage match, Briscos win tag team gold, Jerry Lawler vs. Curt Hennig

By Brian Hoops,

1924 - For promoter Tom Paks in St. Louis, Missouri at St. Louis University Stadium, World Heavyweight Champion Ed “Strangler” Lewis defeated Jim Londos in 2 out of 3 falls.

1940 - Orville Brown defeated Bobby Bruns in Kansas City, Kansas to win the Kansas City version of the Midwest Wrestling Association World Heavyweight Title.

1947 - At Kiel Auditorium in St. Louis, Missouri; Ray Steele beat Bronko Nagurski, Dizzy Davis defeated Bob Cummings, Butch Levy beat Jack Conley. Promoter was Sam Muchnick. Attendance was 2,316 fans and event was billed as season finale.

1957 - Ed Francis defeated Al Lolotai for the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1960 - Tony Borne defeated Bull Curry to win the NWA Texas Brass Knuckles Title in Fort Worth, Texas.

1961 - In Kansas City, Art Neilson & Ray Shires defeated Red Bastien & Lou Bastien in three falls, Bobo Brazil defeated Killer Kowalski in three falls and Bob Ellis defeated The Sheik via DQ in three falls.

1963 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Masked Medic #1 and Masked Medic #2 beat Pat O’Connor and and Tiny Mills 2 falls to 1, Sonny Myers beat Bob Geigel 2 falls to 1 via dq, Larry Hamilton drew Steve Kovacs and Rock Hunter beat Steve Bolus

1969 - In Duluth, Minnesota; The Crusher & Bill Watts beat Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson, Red Bastien beat Dr. X and Billy Red Lyons beat Big K

1970 - In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; In a Steel Cage Match, The Crusher beat Mad Dog Vachon, Dr X & Double X beat Edouard Carpentier & Pepper Gomez, Paul Diamond beat Larry Hennig, Butcher Vachon beat Billy Howard, and Blackjack Lanza beat Moose Cholak Attendance was 12,076 and gate was $58,000. That card set a new Wisconsin indoor gate and attendance record.

1972 - Alfonso Dantes defeated Rey Mendoza for the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Tijuana, Mexico; Jerry Brisco defeated Rip Hawk to win the Mid-Atlantic Eastern title in Columbia, S.C.

1974 - The Interns (Tom Andrews and Jim Starr) defeated Bob Geigel and Rufus R. Jones to win the Central States version of the NWA World Tag Team Title in Kansas City, Kansas. Also, Jim Brunzell defeated Bobby Garcia, Pat O’Connor defeated Ciclon Negro via DQ and Bob Brown defeated Don Fargo via DQ.

1975 - Black Gordman and Goliath win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title from The Hollywood Blonds (Jerry Brown and Buddy Roberts).

1975 - Great Kusatsu and Mighty Inoue defeated Tor Kamata and Duke Savage in a tournament final to win the vacant International Wrestling Alliance Tag Team Title in Morioka, Japan.

1978 - Jack and Jerry Brisco defeated Mr. Saito and Mr. Sato (The Great Kabuki) in Miami, Florida to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title.

1981 - The Kelly Twins (Pat and Mike Kelly) defeated Wilbur Snyder and Spike Huber to win the World Wrestling Association (Indiana) Tag Team Title in Indianapolis, Indiana; The Crusher & Baron Von Raschke beat AWA Tag Team Champions Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura dq, AWA Light Heavyweight Champion Mike Graham beat Buck Zumhofe and Jerry Blackwell ddq Brad Rheingans in Omaha, Neb.

1982 - Centurian Negro defeated Gran Hamada in Monterrey, Mexico, for the Universal Wrestling Association World Middleweight Title

1983 - Tiger Mask (Satoru Sayama) defeated Fishman to win the vacant WWF World Junior Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico; In Salt Lake City, Utah; Rick Martel beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq, Ken Patera & Jerry Blackwell beat Baron Von Raschke & Mad Dog Vachon and Wahoo McDaniel beat Blackjack Lanza

1985 - Kuniaki Kobayashi defeated The Dynamite Kid for the NWA International Junior Heavyweight Title in Koga, Japan; In Ibaraki, Japan; Giant Baba & Jumbo Tsuruta & Genichiro Tenryu beat Terry Gordy & Tiger Jeet Singh & Mario Milano, Riki Choshu & Yoshiaki Yatsu beat AWA Tag Team Champions Road Warriors dq, In an International Junior Heavyweight title match, Kuniaki Kobayashi beat Dynamite Kid dq.

1986 - Lex Luger defeated Ron Bass to win the NWA Bahamas Heavyweight Title in Nassau, Bahamas.

1986 - In Houston, Texas; In a Texas Tornado Street Fight; Steve Williams & Dusty Rhodes & Bill Watts beat Ivan Koloff & Nikita Koloff & Kortsita Korchenko, Terry Gordy beat Terry Taylor, AWA Champion Stan Hansen no contest Nick Bockwinkel, Rock & Roll Express beat Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts and Magnum TA beat Baron Von Raschke

1987 - Bill Dundee defeated Chick Donovan to win the AWA International Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1988 - At the Mid-South Coliseum in Memphis, TN; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Curt Hennig, Brickhouse Brown dcor Max Pain and Great Sensei & Dutch Mantel beat Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden dq. Attendance was 4,500.

1991 - Gran Hamada and Perro Aguayo defeated Los Brazos (Brazo de Oro and Brazo de Plata) to win the UWA World Tag Team Title in Tokyo, Japan.

1992 - Rayo de Jalisco, Jr. defeated El Egipicio in Mexico City, Mexico to win the Mexico National Heavyweight Title

1993 - The WWF held the first televised King of the Ring pay-per-view event in Dayton, Ohio. Yokozuna pinned Hulk Hogan to win the WWF World Title and Bret Hart pinned Bam Bam Bigelow to win the King of the Ring Tournament.

1994 - PG-13 (J.C. Ice and Wolfie D.) defeated The Eliminators (Saturn and Kronus) for the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1997 - Nygma defeated El Salsero to win the Mexico National Welterweight Title in Xochimilko, Mexico.

1998 - Buddy Landel defeated Jimmy Cicero in Alexandria, Virginia for the Independent Professional Wrestling Alliance Heavyweight Title; E.Z. Ryder and Darren Daulton defeated Damage Inc. (Skar and Sledge) to win the Canadian Wrestling Federation Tag Team Title in Garden City, Manitoba.

1999 - WCW held the Great American Bash at the Baltimore Arena in Baltimore, Maryland. The Jersey Triad (Diamond Dallas Page and Kanyon) defeated Chris Benoit and Perry Saturn to win the WCW World Tag Team Title; Koji Nakagawa and Gedo defeated Masato Tanaka and Tetsuhiro Kuroda to win the FMW Brass Knuckles Tag Team Title in Okayama City, Japan.

2002 - Shouichi Ichimiya defeated Chocoball Mukai for the Dramatic Dream Team Ironman Heavymetalweight Title in Tokyo, Japan

2003 - Yutaka Yoshie and Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Masahiro Chono and Hiroyoshi Tenzan in Tokyo, Japan, to win the IWGP World Tag Team Title