Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 18): TNA King of Mountain, Canek loses UWA title, CM Punk wins ROH gold, Dusty Rhodes vs. Dick Slater

By Brian Hoops,

1933 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Joe Stecher beat George Vassell and Abe Kashey drew Bob Jessen.

1937 - In Kansas City; Everett Marshall beat Nanjo Singh to retain the World Title, Lou Thesz beat Warren Bockwinkel and Dan O’Connor drew Walter Podolak.

1943 - In St. Joseph, Missouri; Jim Londos beat Ronnie Etchison to retain World Title and Orville Brown beat Joe Dusek by dq.

1948 - At Kiel Auditorium in St. Louis, Missouri; Bill Longson defeated Billy Watson by countout, Lou Thesz beat Frederick Von Schacht by dq,Sky-Hi Lee defeated Don McIntyre and Warren Bockwinkel beat Fritz Schnabel

1950 - Arjan Singh defeated Sandor Szabo to win the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1951 - Miguel Guzman defeated Wayne Martin for the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title in Fort Worth, Texas

1964 - In Kansas City; Moose Evans beat Mongolian Stomper to retain the US Title by dq, Sonny Myers beat Harley Race 2 falls to 0 (first fall by dq), The Lawman drew Bob Geigel and Steve Bolus and Rocky Hamilton beat Bulldog Plechas and Baron Von Strauss

1966 - In a cage match, Dale Lewis beat Luke Brown and Reggie Parks & Mr Wrestling Tim Woods beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon in Omaha, Nebraska.

1968 - Dory Funk, Jr. & Terry Funk defeated Kurt & Karl Von Brauner to win the Texas version of the NWA World Tag Team Title in San Angelo, Texas

1971 - Bruno Sammartino and Dominic DeNucci defeated The Mongols (Geeto and Bepo) for the WWF International Tag Team Title in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; The Fabulous Kangaroos (Al Colstello & Don Kent) won the WWA World Tag Team Title from Wilbur Snyder and Moose Cholak in Indianapolis, Indiana.

1972 - Enrique Vera defeated Raul Mata for the Mexico National Light Heavyweight Title.

1977 - Jimmy & Johnny Valiant defeated Moose Cholak & Paul Christy for the WWA World Tag Team Title in Indianapolis, Indiana; Hercules Ayala defeated Huracan Castillo to win the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico

1978 - Dusty Rhodes defeated Dick Slater to win the NWA Florida Southern Heavyweight Title in Miami, Florida

1980 - Bob Brown & Pat O'Connor defeated Takachiho (The Great Kabuki) & Pak Song for the NWA Central States Tag Team Title in Des Moines, Iowa.

1981 - Bob Sweetan & Terry Gibbs defeated The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy & Michael Hayes) to win the vacant NWA Central States Tag Team Title in Kansas City, Kansas.

1982 - Ringo Mendoza & Cachorro Mendoza defeated Satanico & Espectro, Jr. for the Mexico National Tag Team Titlel In Denver, Colorado; AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan, In a non-title match; Rick Martel beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel, Tito Santana beat Ken Patera on a reverse decision dq and Pat Patterson beat Dennis Stamp

1983 - In Chicago, Illinois; Mad Dog Vachon beat Jerry Blackwell, Wahoo McDaniel & Jerry Lawler & Dick The Bruiser beat Nick Bockwinkel & Jesse Ventura & Blackjack Lanza, Greg Gagne beat Bobby Heenan and Ken Patera beat Jim Brunzelll; Jack and Jerry Brisco defeated Ricky Steamboat and Jay Youngblood to win the Mid-Atlantic version of the NWA World Tag Team Title in Greenville, South Carolina

1984 - Davey Boy Smith defeated Bad News Allen in Vancouver, British Columbia for the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title; Phil Hickerson & The Spoiler (Frank Morrell) defeated Tommy Rich & Eddie Gilbert to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1989 - The Marine Wolves (Suzuka Minami & Akira Hokuto) defeated Grizzly Iwamoto & Bison Kimura for the vacant WWWA World Tag Team Title in Tokyo, Japan.

1995 - Sting defeated Meng to win the vacant WCW United States Heavyweight Title and The Renegade defeated Arn Anderson to win the WCW World Television Title at the Great American Bash in Dayton, Ohio.

1997 - Mima Shimoda & Etsuko Mita defeated Tomoko Watanabe & Kumiko Maekawa in Sapporo, Japan to win the WWWA World Tag Team Title.

2002 - Doug Williams defeated Justin Starr for the British Heavyweight Title in Southampton, England

2004 - Dr. Wagner, Jr. defeated Canek to win the UWA World Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

2005 - CM Punk defeated Austin Aries to win the ROH Heavyweight Title in Morristown, New Jersey.

2006 - A.J. Styles and Christopher Daniels defeated America's Most Wanted (Chris Harris and James Storm) to win the NWA World Tag Team Title and  Jeff Jarrett defeated champion Christian Cage, Abyss, Ron Killings and Sting in a King of the Mountain match to win the NWA World Heavyweight Title in Orlando, Florida.