Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 20): Pat O'Connor beats Murodch, Superstar vs. Robinson, Dos Caras vs. Canek, Muraco wins IC title, Hogan vs. Bockwinkel

By Brian Hoops,

1940 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown defeated Wladek Zbyszko 2 falls to 0.

1947 - In St. Joseph, Missouri; Tug Carlson & Ralph Garibaldi beat Orville Brown & Sockeye Jack McDonald, Ras (Seelie) Samara beat Wally Dusek by dq, Sailor Fred Blassie beat Jack Page and Don Anderson drew Harry McGinnis.

1953 - Sugi Sito defeated Tarzan Lopez to win the NWA World Middleweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1960 - Tor Yamata and Mr. Moto defeated Mike Clancy and Oni Wiki Wiki for the Mid-America version of the NWA World Tag Team title in Birmingham, Alabama.

1961 - In Minneapolis, MN before 4,059 fans; In Non Title Death Match, Hard Boiled Haggerty & Gene Kiniski beat AWA Tag Team Champions Leo Nomellini & Wilbur Snyder, Tiny Mill beat Roy McClarty, Jack Pesek beat Marquis de Paree and Bob Geigel beat Tony Baillargeon

1963 - In Kansas City, Kansas; In a match for the World Tag Team Titles, Masked Medic#1 and Masked Medic#2 drew Pat O’Connor and Tiny Mills, In a match for the US Title, Larry Hamilton beat Rock Hunter via dq, Bob Orton drew Steve Bolus and Steve Kovacs beat Joe Scarpello.

1967 -In Duluth, MN before 3,000 fans; Harley Race beat The Crusher, Larry Hennig beat Jack Lanza, Johnny Powers beat Doug Gilbert and Rene Goulet beat Big K

1968 - In Kansas City, Bob Ellis defeated Bob Brown and Argentina Rocca defeated Roger Kirby in three falls

1969 - Pat O'Connor defeated Dick Murdoch to win the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title in St. Joseph, Missouri; The Chain Gang (Jack and Frank Dillinger) defeated Dick the Bruiser and The Crusher for the WWA World Tag Team Title in Indianapolis, Indiana

1970 - Beauregard and The Claw defeated Moondog Mayne and Frankie Laine for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1971 - Aiko Kyo and Jumbo Miyamoto defeated Masked Killer and Masked Lee to win the American Girls' Wrestling Association International Tag Team Title in Toride, Japan.

1973 - In Honolulu, Hawaii; Ina Stretcher match, Sam Steamboat beat Ed Francis, North American Champion Billy Robinson dcor Superstar Billy Graham in 3rd fall, Ripper Collins beat Jimmy Snuka and Ken Patera beat The Alaskan

1975 - In Denver; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Dusty Rhodes & Larry Hennig in 2 out of 3 falls, Billy Robinson beat Buddy Wolff, Ivan Putski beat Bobby Heenan and Jim Brunzell drew Khosrow Vaziri (Iron Shiek).

1978 - Dos Caras defeated Canek for the Mexico National Light Heavyweight Title in Pachuca, Mexico.

1979 - Ricky and Robert Gibson defeated The Twin Devils to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title

1981 -  Don Muraco defeated Pedro Morales to win the WWF Intercontinental Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Les Thornton defeated Terry Taylor for the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title in Richmond, Virginia; In Chicago before 6,800 fans; Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher beat Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura, Bobo Brazil no contest Jerry Valiant, Wilbur Snyder beat Johnny Valiant dq, Spike Huber beat Johnny Starr, Moose Cholak beat Dr. Jerry Graham Jr and Greg Wojokowski (The Great Wojo) beat Max Blue

1982 - In St. Paul, MN; Hulk Hogan beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq, Tito Santana & Rick Martel beat Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum dq, Jerry Blackwell beat Ray Stevens, Buck Zumhofe beat Jacques Goulet, Brad Rheingans beat Sheik Adnan dq and Pat Patterson beat Tom Stone; Paul Orndorff defeated Buzz Sawyer for the Georgia National Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia; Halcon Ortiz defeated Herodes to win the Mexico National Heavyweight Title in Guadalajara, Mexico.

1983 - Man Mountain Link defeated Jerry Lawler in Memphis, Tennessee for the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title

1986 - Wayne Farris defeated Bad News Allen in Calgary, Alberta to win the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title

1987 - Barry Windham defeated Black Bart to become the first NWA Western States Heritage Champion in a tournament final in Houston, Texas; The Hunters (Dale Veasey and Bob Brown) defeated Miguel Perez Jr. and Tony Atlas in San Juan, Puerto Rico to win the WWC North American Tag Team Title.

1988 - In Memphis; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Iceman King Parsons, Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden beat Dutch Mantel & Great Senshi, Brickhouse Brown beat Max Payne, Southern Tag Title Match Don Bass & Gary Young no contest Billy Travis & Scott Steiner

1991 - The Bruise Brothers (Ron and Don Harris) won the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title, defeating Steve Doll and Jimmy Jack Funk in Portland, Oregon.

1992 - Scotty Flamingo (Raven) defeated Brian Pillman to win the WCW Light Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama.

1997 - The Dudley Boyz (Buh-Buh Ray and D-Von Dudley) defeated The Eliminators (Perry Saturn and John Kronus) in Waltham, Massachusetts to win the ECW World Tag Team Title.

2000 - At a SmackDown taping in Memphis, Tennessee, Rikishi defeated Chris Benoit for the WWF Intercontinental Title

2003 - Duke Durrango defeated Bruce Hart to win the Stampede British Commonwealth Mid-Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta

2010 - Rey Mysterio won the WWE World Title in a fatal four way match involving Jack Swagger, CM Punk and The Big Show in Long Island, New York. Also, Sheamus won the WWE Championship in a four way match involving John Cena, Randy Orton and Edge.