Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 24): Rougeaus/Garvins famous angle kicks off, Fujinami wins IWGP title in Calgary, Wahoo McDaniel tops Steamboat, Fargo vs. Lawler

By Brian Hoops,

1925 - Bobby Roscoe defeated Matty Matsuda in Columbus, Ohio for the World Welterweight Title.

1936 - George McCloud defeated Frank Sexton to win the Ohio Heavyweight Title in Columbus, Ohio.

1950 - Buddy Rogers defeated Bozo Brown for the World Heavyweight Title in Akron, Ohio

1958 - Duke Keomuka and John Tolos defeated Larry Chene and Pepper Gomez to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Title in Dallas, Texas.

1964 - Alan Colbeck defeated Jack Dempsey for the European Welterweight Title in Bradford, England: Tokyo Tom defeats Joe Blanchard to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas.

1965 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; Bob Geigel and Dutch Savage beat Dick the Bruiser and Mongolian Stomper 2 falls to 1, Pat O’Connor beat Missouri Mauler by dq and Ronnie Etchison beat Ken Hollis

1966 - Luis Hernandez and Pedro Morales defeated Buddy Austin and El Mongol for the World Wrestling Association World Tag Team Title in Los Angeles, California; In Chicago, Wilbur Snyder went to a 60:00 time limit draw with AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon, AWA Tag Team Champions Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher no contest The Assassins, Chris Markoff beat Doug Gilbert and Ernie Ladd beat the Alaskan

1967 - In Minneapolis; In a Cage match, Johnny Powers beat The Crusher; AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Rene Goulet & Lou Thesz dq and Johnny Valentine beat Billy Wicks

1968 - In Davenport, Iowa; Dr X no contest AWA Champion Verne Gagne and Dutch Savage & Bill Watts beat Larry Hennig & Harley Race

1970 - Ripper Collins defeated Sam Steamboat to win the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu, Hawaii

1971 - In Kansas City, Kansas; North American Tag Team Champions Buddy Austin & Bob Orton defeated Rufus R. Jones & The Viking, The Stomper defeated Baron Von Raschke via DQ and Central States Heavyweight Champion Harley Race defeated Dick the Bruiser in three falls

1972 - In Chicago, Illinois; Blackjack Lanza & Blackjack Mulligan no contest Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher, Baron Von Raschke beat Sailor Art Thomas, Ivan Koloff beat Don Muraco and Bobby Heenan beat Billy Red Cloud; NWA Big Time Wrestling held "Parade of Champions" at Texas Stadium in Irving, Texas. At the event, Billy Red Lyons defeated NWA American Heavyweight Champion The Spoiler to win the title and Stan Stasiak defeated NWA Texas Heavyweight Champion Red Bastien to win the title; Abdullah the Butcher defeated Ernie Ladd for the National Wrestling Federation Heavyweight Title in Akron, Ohio; Boris Malenko and Johnny Walker defeated The Professional (Doug Gilbert) and Mike Webster to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in Jacksonville, Florida.

1974 - Jackie Fargo defeated Jerry Lawler for the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1975 - In Omaha, Nebraska; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson & Ivan Putski, Dusty Rhodes dcor Baron Von Raschke, Chris Taylor beat Sgt Jacques Goulet (sub Horst Hoffman) and Jim Brunzell drew Buddy Wolff

1976 - El Halcón defeated El Gran Markus for the Mexican National Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico; In Kansas City; Omar Atlas defeated Dr. X, Jerry Kozak fought The Super Intern to a draw, Harley Race fought Abdullah the Butcher to a no contest and in a Fence Match; Mike George defeated Central States Heavyweight Champion Bob Brown via DQ in three falls

1977 - In Minneapolis, MN; Verne Gagne & Ray Stevens beat AWA Tag Team Champions Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum to win the title. (The decision was later reversed when it was pointed out that Gagne applied his sleeper on Lanza who was not the legal man in the ring). AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel went to a 60 minute draw with Billy Robinson, Super Destroyer beat Pedro Morales, Larry Hennig ddq Angelo Mosca, Greg Gagne beat Bulldog Bob Brown, Jim Brunzell drew Bob Backlund and Steve Olsonoski beat Roger Kirby dq. Attendance was 6,786.

1978 - Roddy Piper defeated Moondog Mayne to win the San Francisco NWA United States Heavyweight Title.

1979 - El Signo defeated Bobby Lee for the UWA World Welterweight Title in Tijuana, Mexico.

1983 - At a big card in Houston, Texas; King Kong Bundy & Kamala beat Junk Yard Dog & Hacksaw Duggan dq, In a Non Title Texas Bullrope match, Dusty Rhodes beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel, Chavo Guerrero beat Mr Olympia, Ted Dibiase beat Tito Santana, Mil Mascaras beat Super Destroyer, Butch Reed beat Tim Horner, Mr Wrestling II beat Art Crews, Magnum TA beat Rip Rogers and Johnny Rich drew Boris Zurkov.

1984 - Wahoo McDaniel defeated Ricky Steamboat to win the NWA United States Heavyweight Title in Greensboro, North Carolina; Canek won the UWA World Heavyweight Title from Dos Caras in Mexico City, Mexico.

1985 - In Montreal; Dino Bravo & King Tonga beat AWA Tag Team Champions Road Warriors in a non title match, Raymond Rougeau & Jacques Rougeau Jr no contest Jimmy & Ronnie Garvin (famous Saint-Jean-Baptiste Massacre, as the Rougeaus get beat up as well as their father). Also, Tony Parisi beat Abdullah the Butcher via forfeit, Abby no showed and Gino Brito Jr drew Leo Burke; Chris Adams and Gino Hernandez defeated The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton and Tommy Rogers) in Fort Worth, Texas to win the NWA American Tag Team Title; Bota the Witch Doctor defeated Jerry Lawler for the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1987 - Cien Caras defeats MS-1 for the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Nezahualcóyotl, Mexico

1988 - Johnny Smith defeated Chris Benoit to win the Stampede British Commonwealth Mid-Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta; Shiro Koshinaka defeated Owen Hart to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title in Osaka, Japan. Also at that event, Tatsumi Fujinami won the IWGP Heavyweight Title by defeating Riki Choshu; Fabuloso Blondie defeated Lizmark for the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico; In New Haven, CT; AWA Tag Team Champions Badd Company Pat Tanaka & Paul Diamond dcor Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson, AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Curt Hennig, Wahoo McDaniel dcor Manny Fernandez and Madusa Macelli beat Heidi Lee Morgan

1989 - Chicky Starr defeated Super Medico I to win the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico

1990 - Los Villanos (I, IV and V) defeated Khaos, Rambo and Zandokhan to win the UWA World Trios Title in Mexico City, Mexico.

1992 - The Southern Rockers (Rex King and Steve Doll) defeated Doug Masters and Ron Starr for the WWC World Tag Team Title in Dorado, Puerto Rico

1993 - Brian Lee defeated SMW Heavyweight Champion Tracy Smothers to win the King of Kentucky Tournament in Hazard, Kentucky.

1995 - Tommy Cairo defeated Devon Storm in a tournament final for the vacant NWA North American Heavyweight Title in Williamstown, New Jersey.

1996 - Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeated WCW World Tag Team Champions Lex Luger & Sting and The Steiner Brothers in a three-way match to win the title in Charlotte, North Carolina.

2001 - Edge pinned Kurt Angle to win the King of the Ring tournament in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

2007 - Johnny Nitro pinned CM Punk to win the vacant ECW World Title and Candice Michelle defeated WWE Women's Champion Melina to win the title in Houston, Texas.

2012 - All Night Express defeated World's Greatest Tag Team to win the ROH World Tag Team Titles in New York City.