Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 27): Tanaka & Fuji win WWWF tag titles, Bockwinkel vs. Baron Von Raschke, Ric Flair vs. Curt Hennig in AWA, RVD & Sabu vs. Storm & Candido

By Brian Hoops,

1935 - Danno O'Mahony defeated Jim Londos for the NWA (National Wrestling Associatoion) Heavyweight Wrestling Title in Boston, Massachusetts.

1961 - In Minneapolis, AWA US Champion Gene Kiniski beat Leo Nomellini, Wilbur Snyder beat Tiny Mills, Stan Kowalski beat Tony Baillargeon and Bob Geigel beat George Scott.

1963 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; In a penalty box rules match, Masked Medic #1 and Masked Medic #2 beat Larry Hamilton and Tiny Mills 2 falls to 1 to retain the World Tag Team Titles, Bob Geigel beat Steve Bolus 2 falls to 1, Sonny Myers beat Rock Hunter dq and Bob Orton beat Steve Kovacs

1972 - Professor Tanaka & Mr. Fuji defeated Chief Jay Strongbow & Sonny King for the WWWF Tag Team Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; At John O'Donnell Stadium in Davenport, Iowa; Wahoo McDaniel & Billy Robinson beat AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens dq, Larry Hennig (sub Dusty Rhodes) beat Don Muraco and Bull Bullinski beat George Gadaski

1973 - In Fargo, ND; In an Indian Strap Match, Wahoo McDaniel beat Superstar Billy Graham, Billy Robinson & Geoff Portz beat AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens on a 3rd fall dq, Reggie Parks beat Rene Goulet, Larry Heiniemi beat Jim Brunzell (sub Ken Patera) and Greg Gagne beat Bob Bruggers

1981 - In Milwaukee; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Baron Von Raschke, Tito Santana beat Sheik Adnan dq, The Crusher beat Ray Stevens dq and AWA Light Heavyweight Champion Mike Graham beat Buck Zumhofe

1986 - In Salt Lake City before 11,557 fans; AWA Champion Stan Hansen beat Nick Bockwinkel, NWA Champion Ric Flair beat Curt Hennig, Midnight Rockers beat AWA Tag Team champions Buddy Rose & Doug Somers dq, Scott LeDoux no contest Larry Zbyszko, Ali Kahn beat Jerry Blackwell, Greg Gagne & Jimmy Snuka beat Boris Zhukov & Nord The Barbarian, Colonel DeBeers beat Brad Rheingans and Candi Devine beat Sherri Martel.

1988 - In Memphis before 4,000 fans; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler dcor Kerry Von Erich, Max Pain beat Brickhouse Brown to win CWA Title, Scott Steiner & Billy Travis beat Don Bass & Gary Young to win Southern Tag Title. Also, Jeff Jarrett & Sensei no contest Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden, Tommy Gilbert drew Dutch Mantel and Bob Holly & Pat Rose beat Shawn Baxter & Tom Brandi

1998 - Rob Van Dam & Sabu defeated Chris Candido & Lance Storm for the ECW World Tag Team Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania at the ECW Arena.

1999 - Billy Gunn defeated X-Pac to win the King of the Ring tournament in Greensboro, North Carolina.

2000 - Steve Blackman defeated Crash Holly for the WWF Hardcore Title in Hartford, Connecticut